Quirky Werewolf 64-bit 7.4 released
Re: fast CD boot
After wasted three CD, I succeeded to fast boot from CD. I tried two method:CHLee wrote:I am thinking fast CD boot for Werewolf. Can we take out the q.sys from initrd.q?
All werewolf's files (initrd.q, vmlinuz and q,sys) put into the "werewolf64" folder.
Then no need to change anythings, the CD should boot as the USB boot.
1. The easy way, added the kernel command line with:
- boot_specs=sr0:iso9660:werewolf64
2. Use the below kernel command line and added a CD label(werewolf64):
- boot_specs=UUID=werewolf64:iso9660:werewolf64
Code: Select all
# blkid
/dev/sr0: LABEL="werewolf64" TYPE="iso9660"
/dev/sdc2: LABEL="test" UUID="5a5c3cc1-6479-4f64-b025-c6874bbddaef" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdc1: UUID="5555-1234" TYPE="vfat"
/dev/sda4: LABEL="sda4" UUID="fbcb9f0e-5a98-42d0-bd24-7d3fabccd8ff" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sda3: LABEL="sda3" UUID="83174c3d-36eb-4cdc-8ce8-806a512ccd55" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda2: LABEL="sda2" UUID="1aeeeeaa-2d99-4d8a-ad9b-2424c04c5e74" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda1: LABEL="sda1" UUID="7ded8135-9ef3-44e4-a00d-a3a97f25c343" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/scd0: LABEL="werewolf64" TYPE="iso9660"
/dev/sdb1: UUID="dc1f5ca6-1bde-446b-858e-a64bd8de620d" TYPE="ext3"
Code: Select all
xBOOT_DEV="$(blkid | grep -m 1 ""${BOOT_DEV:5}"" | cut -f 1 -d ':' | cut -f 3 -d '/')"
Code: Select all
[ -f /BOOT_SPECS ] && [ "${BOOT_FS}" != "ios9660" ] && cp -a -f /BOOT_SPECS /q_new/boot/initrd-tree/
Code: Select all
This is where the session will be saved
Partition: sr0
Folder: werewolf64
C.H.Lee
Got real problems with WW64 and Slacko64 on some modern machinery, notably one with a Radeon HD3000 chip, but other recent marques and monitors. The default opening screens make it impossible to see what's on offer - either too tiny fonts or off screen/displaced screen. I realise from the discussions that drivers may be required, but I'm used have a default display (or even CTL-ALT-BKSPCE to orgwizard) from which to work. Hope BK and micko can work towards an expected default start-up acceptable to the proletariat. I realise that this is another (misguided) attempt by manufacturers to exert leverage/another turn of the upgrade screw, but, surely we can leave that to followers of the devil's OS?
Werewolf32
Just wondering if there will be a werewolf 32bit. If not. Can I use wolf2 to build it. If so, can you direct me to instructions.
Also, off subject, but Barry have you received your Remix OS2 yet. I was sent an email recently to say that I can get one now.
Thanks you.
Also, off subject, but Barry have you received your Remix OS2 yet. I was sent an email recently to say that I can get one now.
Thanks you.
Re: Ver. -7.3.3
The lost+found folder is not a problem .FeodorF wrote:@BarryK
There is one problem while doing a full install from the live-CD onto a ext3 partition (fe. sda2).
The ext3 folder 'lost+found' gets deleted during the install process.
On new hardware I have newer encountered any content in it .
The only time I had content in it was on a 4GB HDD WDMA2 being too slow for kernel 2.6.30.5 that unfortunately signed off to be accessed in its embedded mainboard .
e2fsck should create lost+found automatically if run with the -p or -y options .
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal :P
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal :P
Ver. -7.3.3
Hi Karl!
Sorry to say so - it didn't create a new 'lost+found' folder - but e2fsck worked.e2fsck should create lost+found automatically if run with the -p or -y options .
- Attachments
-
- ItDidnotDoSo.jpg
- (13.04 KiB) Downloaded 763 times
Puppy Linux, since its inception, is entering its 2nd decade of use and service. Much has changed in hardware, home technologies, and Puppy has been actively keeping with the times as it has taken advantage of much in evolving us to here.
The future looks extremely bright and rewarding in Puppy's approaches.
Thanks @BarryK
Edited: Mistyped word Must should have been Much....changed!
The future looks extremely bright and rewarding in Puppy's approaches.
Thanks @BarryK
Edited: Mistyped word Must should have been Much....changed!
Last edited by gcmartin on Mon 07 Dec 2015, 14:50, edited 1 time in total.
Quirky Werewolf 64-bit 7.3.3
- seamonkey is compiled with "enable-gstreamer" ? bad idea : many gstreamer libraries are missing. In my opinion, gstreamer should be avoided anywhere.
- many scripts could use busybox ash instead of full bash (only modify the first line) : xwin, ldd, pmount, wmpoweroff etc.
- sometimes ppm looks for file /root/.packages/.files which doesn't exist (to be confirmed).
- xwin : I don't see why xwin takes care of the network.
- seamonkey is compiled with "enable-gstreamer" ? bad idea : many gstreamer libraries are missing. In my opinion, gstreamer should be avoided anywhere.
- many scripts could use busybox ash instead of full bash (only modify the first line) : xwin, ldd, pmount, wmpoweroff etc.
- sometimes ppm looks for file /root/.packages/.files which doesn't exist (to be confirmed).
- xwin : I don't see why xwin takes care of the network.
- BarryK
- Puppy Master
- Posts: 9392
- Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
- Location: Perth, Western Australia
- Contact:
gstreamer is required by SeaMonkey to play HTML5 videos at places like youtube. Unless you use Adobe Flash Player.linuxcbon wrote:Quirky Werewolf 64-bit 7.3.3
- seamonkey is compiled with "enable-gstreamer" ? bad idea : many gstreamer libraries are missing. In my opinion, gstreamer should be avoided anywhere.
- many scripts could use busybox ash instead of full bash (only modify the first line) : xwin, ldd, pmount, wmpoweroff etc.
- sometimes ppm looks for file /root/.packages/.files which doesn't exist (to be confirmed).
- xwin : I don't see why xwin takes care of the network.
You mean /root/.packages/user-installed-packages, which does exist after a package is installed.
xwin is for starting X and the desktop. It has nothing to do with networking.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]
I compiled seamonkey without gstreamer and youtube videos played ok. Can you please try it ?BarryK wrote:gstreamer is required by SeaMonkey to play HTML5 videos at places like youtube. Unless you use Adobe Flash Player.
/root/.packages/.files . Can't remember how to reproduce it.BarryK wrote:You mean /root/.packages/user-installed-packages, which does exist after a package is installed.
see lines 26-33BarryK wrote:xwin is for starting X and the desktop. It has nothing to do with networking.
@BarryK
See this work by @L18L and @BigPup on changes needed in PUI for much-needed clarity to its use by Puppy users.
Unsure how this improvement gets to WOOFCE/WOOFQ.
Hope this is helpful
See this work by @L18L and @BigPup on changes needed in PUI for much-needed clarity to its use by Puppy users.
Unsure how this improvement gets to WOOFCE/WOOFQ.
Hope this is helpful
- BarryK
- Puppy Master
- Posts: 9392
- Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
- Location: Perth, Western Australia
- Contact:
SM only plays them at 360p I think, without gstreamer and adobe flash player.linuxcbon wrote:I compiled seamonkey without gstreamer and youtube videos played ok. Can you please try it ?BarryK wrote:gstreamer is required by SeaMonkey to play HTML5 videos at places like youtube. Unless you use Adobe Flash Player.
/root/.packages/.files . Can't remember how to reproduce it.BarryK wrote:You mean /root/.packages/user-installed-packages, which does exist after a package is installed.
see lines 26-33BarryK wrote:xwin is for starting X and the desktop. It has nothing to do with networking.
xwin 26-33: oh, yes. Well, that's the way it is.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]
Hi, I have some problems with Intel, Nvidia and ATI display card when I try "frugal install". The default display driver of Werewolf-7.3.3 is kernel mode setting driver. Sometime the resolution is not correct, I want to use the VESA driver. When I run the xorgwizard, it need reboot to change to VESA driver, but it haven't updated the save file(s.sfs). After reboot, it still use the kernel mode driver.
I try to blacklist the kernel mode driver from kernel command line, I put "radeon.blacklist=yes"(ATI display) to kernel command line, but the "radeon" module still loaded and still used the kernel mode setting driver.
Barry, do you have simple way to solve this problem ? Or, can you save the session before the xorgwizard reboot the computer? Thanks.
C.H.Lee
I try to blacklist the kernel mode driver from kernel command line, I put "radeon.blacklist=yes"(ATI display) to kernel command line, but the "radeon" module still loaded and still used the kernel mode setting driver.
Barry, do you have simple way to solve this problem ? Or, can you save the session before the xorgwizard reboot the computer? Thanks.
C.H.Lee
There is an application that can be launched from start menu.Barry, do you have simple way to solve this problem ?
Is it called the bootloader app??
It does the blacklisting. For instance I blacklist the intel950 driver to obtain XVESA
I believe the 'wizardwizard' app will get you the blacklist as well.
Search around and you will find it somewhere on start menu

______________________
- BarryK
- Puppy Master
- Posts: 9392
- Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
- Location: Perth, Western Australia
- Contact:
OK, done. Haven't tested it though.CHLee wrote:Hi, I have some problems with Intel, Nvidia and ATI display card when I try "frugal install". The default display driver of Werewolf-7.3.3 is kernel mode setting driver. Sometime the resolution is not correct, I want to use the VESA driver. When I run the xorgwizard, it need reboot to change to VESA driver, but it haven't updated the save file(s.sfs). After reboot, it still use the kernel mode driver.
I try to blacklist the kernel mode driver from kernel command line, I put "radeon.blacklist=yes"(ATI display) to kernel command line, but the "radeon" module still loaded and still used the kernel mode setting driver.
Barry, do you have simple way to solve this problem ? Or, can you save the session before the xorgwizard reboot the computer? Thanks.
C.H.Lee
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]
- BarryK
- Puppy Master
- Posts: 9392
- Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
- Location: Perth, Western Australia
- Contact:
Menu: System -> BootManagerdon570 wrote:There is an application that can be launched from start menu.Barry, do you have simple way to solve this problem ?
Is it called the bootloader app??
It does the blacklisting. For instance I blacklist the intel950 driver to obtain XVESA
I believe the 'wizardwizard' app will get you the blacklist as well.
Search around and you will find it somewhere on start menu![]()
______________________
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]