Fonts in Precise Puppy are thin and hard to read

Using applications, configuring, problems
Robin2

Fonts in Precise Puppy are thin and hard to read

#1 Post by Robin2 »

I have only discovered Puppy very recently and I was very impressed with how easy it was to get it working on an old Asus EEE.

I am considering using it on my regular netbook in place of Xubuntu (which I have been using for a few years).

However the way fonts are rendered looks like being a deal breaker. I have prepared a small image showing the Puppy page in Firefox. The sample on the left is from Puppy and on the right from Xubuntu. To my eyes the Xubuntu text is much thicker and easier to read. The same problem arises everywhere in Puppy - not just in Firefox. Reading the screen for any length of time is very tiring.

I added the Microsoft Arial font to Puppy but it is also shown in the same thin style.

Is there any way to make Puppy show all its fonts in the more solid style that Xubuntu uses?

...R
Attachments
PuppyVsXubuntu.png
(34.67 KiB) Downloaded 503 times
Last edited by Robin2 on Sat 17 Jan 2015, 19:41, edited 1 time in total.

Flash
Official Dog Handler

#2 Post by Flash »

I'm not familiar with Firefox but most browsers allow you to set the font that will be used to display web pages completely independent of the operating system. In SeaMonkey, for instance, I can play around with fonts by going to Edit -> Preferences -> Appearance -> Fonts.

Robin2

#3 Post by Robin2 »

Sorry - I seem to have made a mistake in the original title (now corrected).

This is not a Firefox problem - it exists in every piece of software I have tried in Puppy.

And selecting different fonts changes the shape of the characters but they are all still very thin (and tiring for my eyes) compared with how they appear in Xubuntu.

...R

rokytnji

#4 Post by rokytnji »

Maybe?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70952

Maybe Not? Not sure myself.

Just for Info. In seamonkey I use