<<<Puppy Linux - What it looks like>>>

What features/apps/bugfixes needed in a future Puppy
wacossusca34

<<<Puppy Linux - What it looks like>>>

#1 Post by wacossusca34 »

I'm pretty new with Linux, but I've tried enough to make a solid statement about some of the flavors out there. I have one suggestion to make for puppy, And since I'm new to these forums, It's probably been discussed before, but I believe its something to seriously consider.

UBUNTU:

Ubuntu One is honestly a beautiful Operating System. It has it's own feel to it, adapting the Macintosh 'Pop Out' side menu. It feels simple, and simple enough without making it look inferior. Ubuntu Is a very nice Lamborghini, With a engine from a old beetle. It's given me some of the slowest and most painful experiences running my Java based server software.

I used to run my server on an older version of Ubuntu - And I didn't for long. Being new to Linux, I went to Peppermint. Peppermint had very little to offer me as well, both systems gave me a fraction of my CPU's capability, as well as constant crashes from common applications. Just recently, I tried the newest Ubuntu - 10.01.

At first, I was breath taken from the smooth, beautiful GUI. The system easily guided me through the installation on my blank hard drive. The installation was, However, very slow. When it finished, I booted from the drive, and got to work getting my favored applications such as Google Chrome... And to be honest, I didn't get anything I wanted. When attempting to install the .deb package with the package manager, The manager itself constantly crashed. The interface at the time started lagging, occasionally freezing. It was not much time before I pulled the plug, and took my handy dandy USB - Puppy.

MAC: