Page 1 of 1

puppy splash screen

Posted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 02:08
by hexdef101
hey guys. I am just wondering. is there a way to set up a splash screen in puppy (i'm using 4.2.1 at the moment b.t.w) I'm not talking about a grub splash but an actual linux splash during boot.

Posted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 06:18
by WhoDo
Search the forum for Pebble by Pizzasgood. He created a splash program for Puppy some time ago and updated it late last year (I think).

Hope that helps

Posted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 20:34
by BobSongs
I just posted that I'm using 4.3.1. It is the first version of Puppy I've ever used that has a very nice integrated splash screen.

Posted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 21:10
by hexdef101
thanks WhoDo , unfortunately pebble as well as splashy and fbcondecor seem to be above my level of technical know how. not that they aren't interesting designs. I was hoping for a simple .pet lol i've become a little leery of modifying system files based on instructions after my attempt at adding the improper shutdown fix, and my "wonderful" experience attempting to install gnome "Epic Fail" from the ubuntu repo's in 5.01.

Posted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 21:56
by Wally
In reference to splash screens:

I notice when I boot from Puppy live CD 4.3.1, there is the nice puppy logo, but when I boot the same version from USB there is none.

Anyone know why?

Posted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 23:51
by cthisbear
Your lucky day.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy//viewt ... c2b1a88662

" Puppy 4.2.1 >> gave usbs a menu.
Barry removed it in Puppy 4.3.1. "

It says it all >>Use at your own risk.

Chris.

Posted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 10:24
by hexdef101
ok i found a pet for splashy and manually configured it. it works pretty good. i would suggest that splashy is probably the system to use if others are looking for a splash screen for puppy.
battleshooter wrote:Yes! I'm back this time with Splashy, this time armed with notes and pets.

Tested in Quirky 1.2, Puppy 4.3.1, Lucid Pup, Lighthouse Pup 443c, and Unnamed 1.1 (based on 4.12).

Installation is 3 pets:
1. directfb-1.0.1.pet
2.libmagic1_5.04-2_i386.pet
3.splashy-0.3.13.pet

Then the manual configuration. It's basically the same as what I posted before, the only reason it will work now is because the actual Splashy program works.

Add "/sbin/splashy boot" to /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit after:

Code: Select all

export LANG=C

. /etc/rc.d/functions4puppy4
. /etc/DISTRO_SPECS
Or somewhere near the top of rc.sysinit as you think appropriate if you don't have that line.

Add:

Code: Select all

/sbin/splashy_update "progress 00"
after the first "fi", and

Code: Select all

/sbin/splashy_update "progress 50"
somewhere after a "fi" in the middle and,

Code: Select all

/sbin/splashy_update "progress 100" 
after a "fi"near the end.

Then put

Code: Select all

/sbin/splashy_update exit
at the bottom of /etc/rc.d/rc.local.

Add:

Code: Select all

vga=791 splash
to the kernel parameters in the Grub menu.lst

For example:

Code: Select all

# Linux bootable partition config begins
title LighthousePup
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /lhpup/vmlinuz pmedia=satahd psubdir=lhpup vga=791 splash
initrd /lhpup/initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends

Replace "791" with the code as ya see fit.

Code: Select all

no framebuffer: vga = normal
1024x768x64k: vga=791
1024x768x32k: vga=790
1024x768x256: vga=773
800x600x64k: vga=788
800x600x32k: vga=787
800x600x256: vga=771
640x480x64k: vga=785
640x480x32k: vga=784
640x480x256: vga=769
Reboot to load new kernel parameters.

There's no point trying to test Splashy with "splashy test" before a reboot as it will error as the new kernel parameters have not been loaded.

All these steps have been tested with the before mentioned Puplets so I'm fairly sure the pet will work for people. There are issues which need to be addressed though, so I hope some folks will come back to discuss it.

Battleshooter
if you are missing libjpeg.so.7 when you install directfb here is the fix

cd /usr/lib
ln -s libjpeg.so.62 libjpeg.so.7

battleshooter also posted about a glitch that when you exit xwin to prompt splashy stays on so there is no prompt, just be aware of this glitch.

i would advise editing your menu.1st file to create a second puppy boot with framebuffer set to vga=normal so that if you have an improper shutdown you can boot into puppy without splashy starting. this will allo w you to use the prompt to fix your system.