[SOLVED] Dpup Stretch 7.5

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
fjd

[SOLVED] Dpup Stretch 7.5

#1 Post by fjd »

Found Grub4Dos and installed it. Powered down and booted into Grub, made my choice and ...TADAAAH! Dpup Stretch installed.

Now it's the not inconsequential tasks of:
1. Loading Foobar2000 (and its Wine jacket).
2 Learning a new OS.

fjd
Last edited by fjd on Sat 21 Mar 2020, 01:59, edited 1 time in total.
2011 ASUS Eee PC, 1011PX, 32-bit, Atom N455, 1667MHz, 2Gb RAM, 240Gb SSD - [color=red] BionicPup 32-bit [/color] frugal + USB stick install

tallboy

#2 Post by tallboy »

Learning a new OS. Wow, I am still learning new Linux tricks every day, after 20 years! :D
A good start is an old site, TLDP.org , The Linux Documentation Project. The Guides, especially Introduction to Linux - A Hands on Guide, and GNU/Linux Command-Line Tools Summary . These old, but thorough guides, will give you an idea about what you can do with a few commands, and a starting point into how Linux is screwed together.
Remember, in Linux, every command in a program is just a text file - which can be edited, and the basic Linux philosophy is that a command should do only one thing, but do it well, and you should be able to use the result as input for the next command.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unix_philosophy.

For the fun of it, in a terminal window, you just press the Tab key twice - tab-tab, and see how many possible names of comands/programs that turn up. In my tahr, it says 2238. Not much, when Debian has more than 60.000 programs to download. You have access to all of them in Stretch7.5. 8)
You may enter a, and then tab-tab to get a list of all commands/programs beginning with a.
Those are interesting lists to browse, and for each of the commands/programmes, once you have the full name entered, you can usually tab to get a list of options, or use command/programname -h, or command/programname --help.