Page 1 of 1

How to use BCM4360 PCI wireless driver?<Solved>

Posted: Wed 03 Feb 2016, 15:03
by Lend27
Can't get my broadcom wifi configured.
Any idea what driver I should install for the BCM4360?

Thanks
Len

Posted: Wed 03 Feb 2016, 15:43
by bigpup
What version of Puppy?

Posted: Wed 03 Feb 2016, 17:23
by Lend27
bigpup wrote:What version of Puppy?
Tahrpup 6.0.5

Thanks!

Posted: Wed 03 Feb 2016, 18:55
by Semme
That an r2 or 3?

Here:

Code: Select all

lspci -nn | grep -i network
If you're unable to copy'n paste, this'll pipe it to /root:

Code: Select all

lspci -nn | grep -i network > /root/mycard.txt
.. Where you CAN copy'n paste.

Posted: Wed 03 Feb 2016, 19:12
by Semme
Problem?

Posted: Wed 03 Feb 2016, 20:40
by Lend27
I typed:
root# lspci -nn | grep -i network

This was the output:

05:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4360 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter [14e4:43a0] (rev 03)

Is there anything else I have to do?

Thanks for all your help!

Len

Posted: Wed 03 Feb 2016, 22:22
by Semme
Not @ the moment.. Broadcom [14e4:43a0] (rev 03)

Posted: Thu 04 Feb 2016, 01:11
by Lend27
Semme wrote:Not @ the moment.. Broadcom [14e4:43a0] (rev 03)
OK, I give up :)

Where is the rev 3 driver? I checked PPM and can't find it. I don't want to mistakenly install the wrong driver.
Do I need to install a module?
Can you point me in the right direction? :)

Thanks
Len

Posted: Thu 04 Feb 2016, 07:24
by peebee
see:
http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drive ... ed_devices

for 14e4:43a0 you can try the proprietary wl drivers

they have to be compiled specifically for each kernel unfortunately...

instructions at:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 946#884946

i suggest you post a request here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 292#805292
for 666philb to put them in his tahrpup repository

cheers
peebee

p.s. I've uploaded pets to http://smokey01.com/peebee/broadcom/tahr-6.0.5/ - make sure you select the correct one for your kernel

Posted: Thu 04 Feb 2016, 14:56
by Semme
If that's Tahr 6.0.5/64 you're running and "uname -r" says "3.14.54", it's the first pkg on Peebee's link.

Posted: Thu 04 Feb 2016, 15:57
by Lend27
Semme wrote:If that's Tahr 6.0.5/64 you're running and "uname -r" says "3.14.54", it's the first pkg on Peebee's link.
I implemented the fix this am and my broadcom is working!

I installed the first driver on the list.

Thank you so much for your help!
:)

Len

Posted: Thu 20 Oct 2016, 08:02
by Puppyt
Thanks to peebee for his broadcom_sta-6.30.223.271_k3.14.54_amd64-5.pet - working brilliantly for TP-Link Archer T6E AC1300 PCIe, on my DH67BL motherboard desktop, TahrPup64. Huge Cheers :)
EDITS: peebee was the compiler, I was right first time - with thanks to 666philb and marvothal for their contributions also, I see on related threads

Posted: Fri 21 Oct 2016, 01:39
by Puppyt
Ok so I have the Broadcom driver peebee provided working swimmingly - I was a bit alarmed that the kernel (Linux 3.14.54 (x86-64) in TahrPup64) wasn't registering automatically on startup, even though the cards green LED was active. Well the proprietary issues of the Broadcom drivers is discussed elsewhere, and thankfully peebee's pet is the bomb for solving the problem.

My problem now is getting my wifi from the standard (and ad-hoc) mode of 2.4GHz bandwidth to the 5Ghz offered by the Broadcom4360 T6E.

Code: Select all

root# iwlist wlan0 freq
wlan0     32 channels in total; available frequencies :
          Channel 01 : 2.412 GHz
          Channel 02 : 2.417 GHz
          Channel 03 : 2.422 GHz
          Channel 04 : 2.427 GHz
          Channel 05 : 2.432 GHz
          Channel 06 : 2.437 GHz
          Channel 07 : 2.442 GHz
          Channel 08 : 2.447 GHz
          Channel 09 : 2.452 GHz
          Channel 10 : 2.457 GHz
          Channel 11 : 2.462 GHz
          Channel 12 : 2.467 GHz
          Channel 13 : 2.472 GHz
          Channel 14 : 2.484 GHz
          Channel 32 : 5.16 GHz
          Channel 34 : 5.17 GHz
          Channel 36 : 5.18 GHz
          Channel 38 : 5.19 GHz
          Channel 40 : 5.2 GHz
          Channel 42 : 5.21 GHz
          Channel 44 : 5.22 GHz
          Channel 46 : 5.23 GHz
          Channel 48 : 5.24 GHz
          Channel 50 : 5.25 GHz
          Channel 52 : 5.26 GHz
          Channel 54 : 5.27 GHz
          Channel 56 : 5.28 GHz
          Channel 58 : 5.29 GHz
          Channel 60 : 5.3 GHz
          Channel 62 : 5.31 GHz
          Channel 64 : 5.32 GHz
          Channel 66 : 5.33 GHz
          Current Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
So the obvious solution is "change the channel" to something like channel 60. I could probably do something like tempestuous outlines here http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 336#159336. I'll give that a try. I guess I don't *have* to shift from ad-hoc to infrastructure mode - like the

Code: Select all

iwconfig wlan0 mode master
command - if only that I wasn't using WPA/WPA2 as I think iwconfig is not useable in that instance.
So does anyone know of a method I could use to flexibly shift between 2.4 to 5Gz automatically, assign channels appropriate for the available signal strength? Or, some approach within existing Frisbee/SNS/Network Manager dialogs that I might have missed? The commandline approach looks a little all-or-none, but if there were easy scripts to insert in wpa_supplicant or elsewhere to enable the improved functionality, please feel free to suggest a solution (dear reader).

UPDATE: Ok so the modem isn't mine though it was purchased recently as part of a Telstra Fixed Wireless package (slaps forehead). The modem is a TG797n v3, and thanks to the Whirlpool forum in Oz, has been restricted to 2.4GHz among other rapacious limitations (whacks forehead on desk). So, 5GHz channels *might* be recruited automagically if the bandwidth is actually provided... but I have no way of testing this equipment at present