Page 5 of 6

Posted: Thu 15 Nov 2018, 12:09
by SFR
Argolance wrote:I usually configure ROX to show hidden files, may be, while selecting all files of a partition without this setting would be the reason of this issue?
That could be it, indeed.
If showing hidden files is not enabled and you use CTRL+A, only non-hidden stuff gets selected and that's all what goes to PackIt...

Greetings!

Posted: Thu 15 Nov 2018, 13:00
by Argolance
SFR wrote:If showing hidden files is not enabled and you use CTRL+A, only non-hidden stuff gets selected and that's all what goes to PackIt...
I think a warning should be added somewhere in the application to preserve the user who would ignore or forget this, as it was the case for me! But still, just because they are not displayed doesn't mean that these files/folders don't exist: it remains a big problem...
Thank you.

Cheers!

Posted: Thu 14 Mar 2019, 11:42
by SFR
Version 1.16:

- make (un)install scripts compatibile with Fatdog build system
- added zstd support
- added sha256 checksum

First post updated.

Greetings!

Posted: Thu 28 Mar 2019, 20:18
by SFR
Version 1.17:

- removed compress and freeze support
- added 'Block size' option to mksquashfs
- various fixes and improvements

First post updated.

Greetings!

Posted: Thu 28 Mar 2019, 22:05
by musher0
Many thanks, SFR! :)

Posted: Sat 05 Oct 2019, 10:53
by SFR
Version 1.18:

- can create zstd compressed SFSes (requires squashfs-tools v4.4 built with zstd)
- fixed typo in one extension

First post updated.

Greetings!

Posted: Tue 15 Oct 2019, 16:30
by SFR
Version 1.19:

- mksquashfs: added option to not compress (-noI -noId -noD -noF -noX)
- fixed disabling mksquashfs's "block size" combobox after choosing '(none)'

First post updated.

Greetings!

Posted: Thu 17 Oct 2019, 07:02
by mistfire
Hello

Can you please add zst compression in packit?

https://github.com/facebook/zstd

Posted: Thu 17 Oct 2019, 09:03
by SFR
Hey Mistfire

Support for zstd is already there, since v1.16.
Can also create zstd compressed SFSes (since v1.18, req. squashfs-tools v4.4+).

Greetings!

Posted: Fri 01 Nov 2019, 15:16
by Revolverve
SFR
having recently been acquainted that UExtract handle appimage, would it be possible that packit create them too?
if not already the case!
testing it simply...
-made a squashfs from an extracted appimage
-renaming it,give it executable rights
=no go and no surprise..Exec format error
but an appimage is just an executable squashfs!

This is where i took my inspiration..
Freecad wiki;appimage
From the link:
Repackaging AppImages
If you've modified the code, and now want to re-package the AppImage with your latest changes, use the appimagetool-x86_64 tool on the extracted file system.
cd ..
wget "https://github.com/AppImage/AppImageKit ... 4.AppImage"
chmod +x appimagetool-x86_64.AppImage
./appimagetool-x86_64.AppImage squashfs-root
__________
could be useful feature if doable..
Thanks ,have a great one.

Posted: Sat 02 Nov 2019, 11:14
by SFR
Hey Revolverve

PackIt is a GUI for archiving/compressing random stuff, so creating an executable AppImages is kinda out of its scope, just like creating pet, deb, rpm, flatpack, snap, etc. packages.

The thing is that AppImage is not "just" an executable SFS, it's an SFS (used to be an ISO, before that) with prepended i686/x86_64 binary that handles mounting and executing the payload.
Also, the input content must meet specific criteria (.desktop file, AppRun launcher, etc.) - you can't just create an AppImage from anything you want.
Well, technically you could, but it would be just an SFS with useless binary attached to it. :wink:

Have a great one, too &
Greetings!

Posted: Sun 03 Nov 2019, 13:32
by Revolverve
SFR
ok,thanks for the useful info!
Will shoot to your UExtract topic for the next questions.
I enjoy your work!
Thank you again.

lz4 option

Posted: Fri 29 Nov 2019, 10:09
by Smithy
Hi SFR, just wondering with V1.9, is there an easy way to make a LZ4.sfs?
And there is a new block size option, what would be optimal, 4k?
I wanted to experiment with a few sqooshing up formats, only ever used GZIP and XZ so far.

Posted: Fri 29 Nov 2019, 15:31
by SFR
Hey Smithy,
Smithy wrote:Hi SFR, just wondering with V1.9, is there an easy way to make a LZ4.sfs?
Yes, LZ4 should be available on the drop-down list below the mksquashfs radio button.
But it shows only if squashfs-tools in your distro support LZ4.
Smithy wrote:And there is a new block size option, what would be optimal, 4k?
Depends on what is your priority.
If you prefer performance over compression ratio, go low and if the opposite, go high.

Greetings!

Posted: Fri 29 Nov 2019, 17:47
by zagreb999
to create lz4 in
tazpuppy i use

liblz4-1_0.0~r122-2_i386.deb

liblz4-tool_0.0~r122-2_i386.deb

squashfs-tools_4.3-3+deb9u1_i386.deb

Posted: Fri 29 Nov 2019, 23:29
by Smithy
Great, thanks to you both.
I will see if I can find the tools.

Posted: Sun 01 Dec 2019, 15:18
by Smithy
Hi SFR, not sure if I asked this before, but I am getting an error on Packiting an SFS with no compression option. Says it was not successful almost immediately.
There's no relevant information in view log. Got LZ4 working thanks.

Posted: Sun 01 Dec 2019, 16:08
by SFR
Thanks Smithy, please try v1.20.
___________

Version 1.20:

- mksquashfs: remove '-noId' option, which is not supported by older versions of squashfs-tools
- add missing ; in .desktop file

First post updated.

Greetings!

Posted: Sun 01 Dec 2019, 17:12
by Smithy
On a quick test with a smallish Adrv, No Compression works A OK.
Thanks SFR!

Posted: Fri 24 Jan 2020, 01:10
by don570
I'm writing my own compression and encryption app
and I've decided to put in help button to tell users that foreign characters
can be used in password.

Code: Select all

 <button>                     
         <variable>VARIABLE</variable>
         <action>Xdialog --title "'$(gettext 'Warning')'"  --rc-file /root/.config/pclock/orangebox.rc    --wrap --screen-center --left --no-buttons --msgbox  "'$(gettext 'Foreign characters are allowed in a password but no spaces.')'"   0 0 100  & </action>
         <input file stock="gtk-help"></input>
     </button>