Page 3 of 7

Posted: Sat 07 Jun 2014, 10:00
by SFR
an option to loop the gif would be nice
Hmm, here in Slacko-5.7 GIFs are looped (∞) by default and -loop_output isn't recognizable anymore in ffmpeg-2.0.x (seems it's been deprecated years ago).
-loop works fine, but not with Wary's ffmpeg-0.8.12...
I'll include some workaround in future release, probably sth like:
[ "`ffmpeg --help 2>&1 | grep 'loop_output'`" ] && loop_output || loop
maybe even scale the image
Perhaps, common for all output formats, option "Scale to:" would be a useful addition indeed, I have to rethink that...

Thanks again for the feedback &
Greetings!

Posted: Sun 08 Jun 2014, 10:45
by SFR
Version 1.6:

- fixed GIF looping issue in older versions of ffmpeg (thanks to Geoffrey)

- added "Scale (%)" option - in percents, so aspect ratio is preserved.
Range is 25%-100%.

- added command-line option "quick", which instantly takes a snapshot of the entire screen (incl. mouse cursor) and saves Quickshot.png to $HOME dir.
Usefull for binding with e.g. PrtSc key.
Invocation: tas quick

- handling of ffmpeg errors is now internal - no more logging to the console, but it's possible to view the log via xmessage (if something went wrong).

- destination directory doesn't have to be already there, it will be created if doesn't exist

- dir & filenames can contain any (hopefully) characters now, except % (which is used by ffmpeg to enumerate output files) and, only for filenames, / character, which will be replaced with _ char.

Btw, strange thing I noticed, while testing in Wary, Precise, Lucid and Carolina, is that resulting GIFs are being played ~1.5x faster than they should, regardless of resolution, fps, anything.
For example, having 10fps we'll get GIF with a 6ms delay, but should be 100/10=10ms.
Dunno why's that, probably too old ffmpeg, but fortunately I managed to fix that thanks to gifsicle, by reapplying the correct delay.

First post updated!

Greetings!

Spanish .mo file 1.6

Posted: Sun 08 Jun 2014, 15:13
by nilsonmorales
Saludos.

Posted: Sun 08 Jun 2014, 15:38
by SFR
Thanks again, tas-NLS-1.6.pet updated.

Greetings!

Posted: Sun 08 Jun 2014, 19:21
by greengeek
Amazing. This is fantastic SFR. Works perfectly in my derivative of slacko5.6
Love the fact that it doesn't overwrite previous screenshots (my usual annoying trick). Such an easy way to capture activity on the desktop. Great stuff.

Posted: Mon 09 Jun 2014, 12:11
by SFR
greengeek wrote:Amazing. This is fantastic SFR. Works perfectly in my derivative of slacko5.6
Love the fact that it doesn't overwrite previous screenshots (my usual annoying trick). Such an easy way to capture activity on the desktop. Great stuff.
Thanks Greengeek, I'm glad you like it! :)

Greetings!

franch translation updated

Posted: Sat 05 Jul 2014, 09:03
by charlie6
Hi SFR !
thanks for the 1.6 update !
here is the french locale udpated (merci Musher0 pour la traductiob initiale ! :)
greetings
Charlie

Posted: Sat 05 Jul 2014, 11:41
by SFR
Thank you, NLS pet updated.

Btw, there were fr & fr_BE dirs and I included tas.mo from the latter, because I noticed it has better text alignment for 'GIF Warning'. Is that ok?

Greetings!

Posted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 05:33
by charlie6
Hallo SFR !
schönen Gutentag !
SFR wrote:...Btw, there were fr & fr_BE dirs and I included tas.mo from the latter, because I noticed it has better text alignment for 'GIF Warning'. Is that ok?
It is OK indeed, the usr/share/locale/fr_BE/LC_MESSAGES/tas.mo is the latest update.
Yehhh...! Now having a look inside the MoManager-fr_BE-tas-1.tar.gz, it surprises me to find a tas.mo file inside a fr_BE folder besides the fr one. I did not check that ...sorry :oops: .

I thought MoMonager just ignored that «secundary fr_BE» locale as, till now, i have gotten only the fr one when running MoManager. Now i discover MM to make a fr_BE folder ... :shock: when choosing fr_BE upon MM start.

For further translations, i'll care to selet «fr»

Tschüsss !
Charlie

Re: Take a Shot! - yet another screenshot utility...

Posted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 08:40
by Sylvander
SFR wrote:selecting region is a bit unusual: click on top-left corner of desired area and release mouse button, then click again on bottom-right corner
I was ready to give up on "Take a Shot!"...
Then I happened upon this thread...
Was going to post a question, but decided to read the 1st post before doing that...
And what-do-you-know! There was the answer. :D

Would be better if this little glitch didn't exist.

Posted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 12:50
by SFR
@Sylvander: yeah, I wish it was simple to fix this "glitch", but the problem is that TAS relies only on what's available in Puppy OOTB, thus the very fact, that it's possible to select a region at all, is only a result of clever use of xwininfo + getcurpos.
You can see by yourself how it's been done, just run this in terminal:

Code: Select all

xwininfo >/dev/null; getcurpos; xwininfo >/dev/null; getcurpos
However the info from the 1st post should be builtin and so it is (as a tooltip) in v1.7.

First post updated!

Greetings!

Posted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 13:00
by 01micko
Did you update for newer woof icons? (menu and gui- can be integrated easy enough so it's compatible with legacy pups - think pinstall.sh at least for menu)

I meant to post this earlier today.. but.. :o

Posted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 13:13
by SFR
You mean /usr/share/pixmaps/puppy/photocamera.svg instead of /usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/mini-camera.xpm ?

If so, I'll do it and upload later today.

Greetings!

Posted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 13:18
by 01micko
SFR wrote:You mean /usr/share/pixmaps/puppy/photocamera.svg instead of /usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/mini-camera.xpm ?

If so, I'll do it and upload later today.

Greetings!
:wink:

Posted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 13:47
by SFR
Ok, already done & uploaded (didn't bump the version number though).
pinstall.sh looks like this (EDIT: corrected 5 min later), so should be fine with woof, I believe:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

DOTDESKTOP="/usr/share/applications/tas.desktop"
ICON_LEGACY="/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/mini-camera.xpm"
ICON_MODERN="/usr/share/pixmaps/puppy/photocamera.svg"

if [ "`pwd`" != "/" ]; then	# woof
  DOTDESKTOP=".${DOTDESKTOP}"
  [ -f ".${ICON_MODERN}" ] && ICON="Icon=${ICON_MODERN}" || ICON="Icon=${ICON_LEGACY}"
else
  [ -f "${ICON_MODERN}" ] && ICON="Icon=${ICON_MODERN}" || ICON="Icon=${ICON_LEGACY}"
fi

sed -i "s#^Icon=.*#$ICON#" "$DOTDESKTOP"
Greetings!

Locales en español

Posted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 17:15
by nilsonmorales
udated spanish locale

Posted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 17:53
by SFR
Thanks, NLS .pet updated.

Greetings!

Posted: Thu 07 Aug 2014, 08:05
by charlie6
Hi SFR,
here is the french tas.mo update for version 1.7
many thanks again :D
charlie
ps: uuuh!...that's my 1000th post.....champain **** :P

Posted: Thu 07 Aug 2014, 12:38
by SFR
charlie6 wrote:here is the french tas.mo update for version 1.7
Thanks, NLS reuploaded.
charlie6 wrote:ps: uuuh!...that's my 1000th post.....champain **** :P
Congratulations! :)

Greetings!

Posted: Sun 14 Sep 2014, 12:35
by SFR
Minor update, version 1.8:
- Added "Toggle extra options" togglebutton, which shows/hides "Number of frames" & "Frames per second" options
- Settings are retained also if TAS window has been closed without taking a screenshot
- Some minor fixes & changes

First post updated!

Greetings!