Page 18 of 59

Posted: Tue 31 Mar 2015, 12:11
by SFR
jamesbond wrote:32bit-slacko6.sfs
Well, this one is much better - I've added usr/lib/xorg/ stuff to it and direct rendering seems to work, at last. Thanks!
01micko wrote:

Code: Select all

cellwriter --keyboard-only
Hmm, I didn't know Cellwriter has a virtual keyboard (not that I've been using it).
Sadly, the US layout is hardcoded, but since the default "Polish Programmer's" layout is basically US + AltGr I hacked the source and replaced right Alt with AltGr, and it's working.
If anyone's interested (some other langs are also using this scheme) here's the diff:

Code: Select all

--- old/keywidget.c	2012-11-12 07:52:30.000000000 +0100
+++ new/keywidget.c	2015-03-30 22:41:30.122929138 +0200
@@ -943,8 +943,8 @@
         set_flags(key, KEY_STICKY, 0);
         key = add_key(key_widget, XK_Alt_L, "Alt", 6, 11, 2, 2);
         set_flags(key, KEY_STICKY, 0);
-        add_key(key_widget, XK_space, "", 8, 11, 14, 2);
-        key = add_key(key_widget, XK_Alt_R, "Alt", 22, 11, 2, 2);
+        add_key(key_widget, XK_space, "", 8, 11, 12, 2);
+        key = add_key(key_widget, XK_ISO_Level3_Shift, "AltGr", 20, 11, 4, 2);
         set_flags(key, KEY_STICKY, 0);
         add_key(key_widget, XK_Menu, "Mn", 24, 11, 2, 2);
         key = add_key(key_widget, XK_Control_R, "Ctrl", 26, 11, 4, 2);
Btw, there's missing icon for "Keys" button, but an icon named "keyboard.png" in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/(any_dir) + gtk-update-icon-cache /usr/share/icons/hicolor did the trick.

Greetings!

Posted: Tue 31 Mar 2015, 14:13
by kirk
Yoliano,

You shouldn't have to do any of that with alsa. Try making another savefile or savefolder and boot with that. Then install “fatdog-update-700-noarch-1.txz

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 00:24
by Yoni
I see Jamesbond is still posting on the forum yet still ignoring people in this thread and keeping people waiting , does he have AS or some other type of Autism?

People with those conditions tend to be intelligent but lack any social skills.

They tend to act exactly like this from what i've seen on other forums with the same selective approach and avoidance with no understanding of anyone else's time but their own.

Just a thought for those that have been ignored , maybe it's medical rather than intentional rudeness or selfishness.

Rather than reacting maybe people need to make an allowance for him.

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 01:56
by kirk
Friends just a reminder, don't feed the troll(s). No matter how many names they may post under.

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 02:23
by LazY Puppy
--- old/keywidget.c 2012-11-12 07:52:30.000000000 +0100
+++ new/keywidget.c 2015-03-30 22:41:30.122929138 +0200
@@ -943,8 +943,8 @@
set_flags(key, KEY_STICKY, 0);
key = add_key(key_widget, XK_Alt_L, "Alt", 6, 11, 2, 2);
set_flags(key, KEY_STICKY, 0);
- add_key(key_widget, XK_space, "", 8, 11, 14, 2);
- key = add_key(key_widget, XK_Alt_R, "Alt", 22, 11, 2, 2);
+ add_key(key_widget, XK_space, "", 8, 11, 12, 2);
+ key = add_key(key_widget, XK_ISO_Level3_Shift, "AltGr", 20, 11, 4, 2);
set_flags(key, KEY_STICKY, 0);
add_key(key_widget, XK_Menu, "Mn", 24, 11, 2, 2);
key = add_key(key_widget, XK_Control_R, "Ctrl", 26, 11, 4, 2);
Hi.

Can anyone please explain, how I have to read this and what kind of guidance this is offering?

I have seen this in so many different threads in the last months but this always left me looking and staying helpless.

Thanks

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 02:40
by kirk
LazY Puppy, that is a patch. It's made with the diff command. The syntax is:

Code: Select all

diff -u original.c new.c > original.patch 
for a single file and

Code: Select all

diff -rupN original/ new/ > original.patch
for a whole directory of files.


In your example keywidget.c is the file to be patched, The lines preceded by the "-" are lines to be removed and lines preceded by "+" are lines to be inserted. The other lines are just for context.

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 06:48
by Pavan
kirk wrote:Friends just a reminder, don't feed the troll(s). No matter how many names they may post under.
Friends just a reminder, don't feed Kirk & James(s) ego with brown nosing and pretending everything is fine with Fatdog when it isn't. No matter how many split personalities Kirk & James(s) may post under.

:roll:

Even Billtoo has finally realized like the rest of us after all these months that Fatdogs Video driver are fecked, broke and just don't work correctly.
Billtoo wrote:EDIT: Nexuiz won't run so hardware acceleration isn't working.
So while James ignores him Kirk will soon be along to accuse Billtoo of being a troll and being one person using many names because that's apparently how you run a broken project when anyone posts anything other than butt kissing.

:roll:

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 08:13
by jamesbond
@Yoliano: - But these three apps. Alsamixer, eztables and ntpd-boot, all exhibit the same defect of not starting at boot, although configured to do so.

Kirk already addressed alsa/alsamixer so I will skip that, though I would add that generally speaking you should not run "alsa" service manually. Its sole purpose is to capture the mixer settings at shutdown, and restore it at boot.

For eztables, you need to update it to the latest package from the repo. To know whether you've gotten the latest one, check if you've got this one instead this line in /etc/eztables/eztables.cfg allow_out any any any "$BASIC_SERVICES"

ntpd-boot should only run once at boot, sync-ing the time, and the quits. It should not make your clock move 12 hours forward. I will see if there is anything I can figure out. The difference between ntpd-boot and ntpd-client is that ntpd-client runs continuously, monitoring and updating your time from the time servers as needed, while ntpd-boot only run once at boot.

Anyway, how are you connected to the net? wired/wireless? built-in adapter or USB dongles? These odd problems seem to have to do with timing (except the alsa one), it may be that the devices got initialised too slowly and the scripts bail out before the network device is ready. Just a guess.

@SFR - thanks for the patch. I will merge it. Just for fun, I have been using "us intl" keyboard layout for 3 weeks now and I am still training my muscle memory - keys like quotes, double quotes, tilde etc always stumble me ... but the good thing I can type © (altgr-c) and € (altgr-5) with one stroke :) I don't know how long I can endure this however, it is very tempting to switch back to the familiar plain "us" layout.
EDIT: patch applied, thanks.

@mavrothal, thanks for the report. I see if I can get net-setup.sh fixed.

@01micko - great job :) Image I will look into that missing icons. You may want to try easystroke too for handling gestures.
EDIT: missing icon added.

@L18L: will look into it. If I take it in, can I drop L189L-goodies altogether? EDIT: Dropped it. See next post.

Lastly, I will quote kirk's post:
kirk wrote:Friends just a reminder, don't feed the troll(s). No matter how many names they may post under.
cheers!

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 10:30
by Abdulrahman
Yoni wrote:I see Jamesbond is still posting on the forum yet still ignoring people in this thread and keeping people waiting , does he have AS or some other type of Autism?

People with those conditions tend to be intelligent but lack any social skills.

They tend to act exactly like this from what i've seen on other forums with the same selective approach and avoidance with no understanding of anyone else's time but their own.

Just a thought for those that have been ignored , maybe it's medical rather than intentional rudeness or selfishness.

Rather than reacting maybe people need to make an allowance for him.
I think you are looking into this way too deeply and making unnecessary excuses. :wink:

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 11:42
by jamesbond
@L18L, I have dropped L18L-goodies and merged the quick-locale-switcher. After a few tests I will merge it with nls.sfs. I have dropped some of scripts related to the management of nls.sfs (because it will be inside nls.sfs itself), but I only modified the scripts themselves slightly. I still need to test it with these modifications (you can see it by grabbing quick-locale-swicher-1.3-noarch-1.txz from the repo).

@Mick: I added matchbox-systray as to "wake-up" matchbox-keyboard, in case you are trying this one. You must run matchbox-keyboard in daemon mode to use it.

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 11:51
by Mike Walsh
Morning, all.

I'm guessing the FatDog threads are going to be more productive for me than the general 'Help' forum. Before I can ask what I WANT to know, however, I would appreciate somebody doing a wee bit of identifying for me.

I've just installed A version of FatDog64.....but I can't remember which one. It was downloaded 2-3 months ago, and I didn't identify it on the CD label at the time...! It has TWO browsers as standard; SeaMonkey, and also FireFox 'Nightly'? (I believe 33.0)

Does that give anybody a clue?

Regards,

Mike. :?

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 12:06
by jamesbond
Hi Mike, it's probably 700 beta2.

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 12:12
by JustGreg
@Mike Walsh,

You can find out for sure by opening the FatDog64 control panel. It is located in the menu under "SETUP" Once the FatDog64 control panel is displayed, then click on the "System" tab. Pull the scroll bar down and you should see the "System Information and Bench Marks" applet. Double click on it and it will open. Under Computer(left panel), click on Summary. The basic information will be shown in the right panel. The "Operating System" entry will list what is being used. I hope this helps.

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 12:21
by JustGreg
I needed a CUPS printer driver for my HP Envy 5530. Previously, the driver was available for FatDog64 600 series as a pet, hplip_print_fd600-3.14.4.pet. I tried the automatic conversion and it work well without a problem. In the ROX file window, one right clicks on the PET file and selects "Convert to new package forma". The TXZ package will be create in the directory. Right click on the TXZ package to install it

The converted package provides the needed HP print drivers for CUPS. My printer works correctly now

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 12:35
by Mike Walsh
@ jamesbond, JustGreg:-

Hi, guys; thanks for the replies. Well, that's fair enough. I've been running a couple of other 64-bit distros (Ubuntu & Mint) for a year or two now. Discovered the 'Pups' back in October last year (Tahrpup's saved my old Dell lappie from certain death).....and I've been having a whale of a time ever since.

I've got a small bunch of utilities I want to use in FatDog. I've got them all in 32-bit AND 64-bit versions, so there's no problem there. They're all either .pet files, OR .deb files. I use BitMeterOS, as it helps me keep an eye on my broadband usage...works very well, too! I also want to install the printer driver, and scanner + data packages, for my Epson SX218 all-in-one.

In the 32-bit 'Pups', you just click on them, and it'll ask you if you want to install, yes? I've tried doing this in FatDog, and, er....well, nothing happens, basically. I know you've used the GSlapt PM in this one, but I'm surprised it doesn't open into this, and then install the drivers, etc, for you. Never used GSlapt before, so I REALLY don't know what to expect.

Any info would be very helpful.


Regards,

Mike. :)

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 12:53
by Mike Walsh
Failing that, I guess the next best thing would be to convert the .deb file into the correct .pet format for this version of FatDog. How would I go about doing that.....any pointers?

Mind you, having said that I DON'T anticipate any problems with using them as is. They've always installed and run with no fuss at all... I know, I know; not ALL .debs behave themselves in Puppy, but these have been as good as gold.

Regards,

Mike. :?:

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 14:08
by jamesbond
Mike Walsh wrote:Failing that, I guess the next best thing would be to convert the .deb file into the correct .pet format for this version of FatDog. How would I go about doing that.....any pointers?
700 does not support .debs packages out of the box. I made a script here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 103#836103, which you will need to run from the command line (download it, gunzip it, chmod +x it, then move it to /usr/bin). Once converted, you can install it by right-clicking the txz package file.

cheers!

Posted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 21:29
by step
@Lazy Puppy, to complement kirk's answer, you can feed a patch file + the "old" file to the patch command (command-line) to re-create the "new" file. That's the essence of so-called "applying the patch". The patch command can be set to be "fuzzy", to be able to apply a patch on an "old" file that doesn't exactly match the original old file, but is close enough.
kirk wrote:LazY Puppy, that is a patch. It's made with the diff command...

Posted: Thu 02 Apr 2015, 10:46
by 01micko
V1 of the "howto iconiatab w500/510" for fd-700 is posted here.

fatdog-updates package issue

Posted: Thu 02 Apr 2015, 17:03
by step
Gslapt keeps reporting the following error when I try to install the fatdog-updates package:

failed to download fatdog-updates: MD5 checksum mismatch, override with --no-md5

I did update the package catalog, and I tick the checkbox for "download packages only".