Just-Lighthouse64-603/604

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
stemsee

#241 Post by stemsee »

installdir ?? What's that? Can you post the script? Is it an effort to translate puppy installed db format to slapt's? or just the lists.files? I am looking for user-installed-packages/builtin to status file translator.
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

#242 Post by Dry Falls »

Hi Stemsee. Here's the script from Lighthouse:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
# 110509 TazOC lhpup.org
# Install a directory tree to / from CL

if [ ! -d "$1" ]; then
 echo -e "Usage: `basename $0` <path to directory>\nThis will copy the directory tree to / without using a package manager.\nDesigned to be used with new2dir for building pets."
 exit 1
else TREE="$1"
 cp -afT --remove-destination "${TREE}" /
fi

exit 0
It's also useful for installing portable apps like mozilla or wine-drive_c during first run/ram mode. Like ppm, G-slapt only presents the directory-tree of installed packages. Woof-CE & Quirky have the /root/.packages/builtin_files directory for woof-installed/ootb builtins directory trees. My efforts are purely for reasons of compatability. Not sure what you mean by "status file translator".

df
stemsee

#243 Post by stemsee »

hi DryFalls

apt-get / synaptic use a status file to log installed, configured, half-configured packages. This file is also used to determine version against available upgrade package.
Sylvander
Posts: 4416
Joined: Mon 15 Dec 2008, 11:06
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

#244 Post by Sylvander »

Dry Falls wrote:Check /root/.packages/builtin_files to see if the new "trees" have materialized.
/root/.packages/builtin_files exists, and has inside it MANY files but no sub-folders...that is, no folder/file trees.
Is that OK?
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

#245 Post by Dry Falls »

sylvander, each one of those files is the directory structure of a builtin package. For example, the first file is '915resolution-x86_64' which should read:

Code: Select all

/usr
/usr/sbin
 915resolution
/var
/var/log
/var/log/packages
 915resolution-x86_64
This is the "tree" I spoke of. Probably a more appropriate name for it.
Sylvander
Posts: 4416
Joined: Mon 15 Dec 2008, 11:06
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

#246 Post by Sylvander »

The contents of my file...
/root/.packages/builtin_files/915resolution-x86_64
Reads...

Code: Select all

/usr
/usr/sbin
 915resolution
/var
Is that OK?
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

#247 Post by Dry Falls »

Well, it's nearly ok! a tedious process.
Sylvander
Posts: 4416
Joined: Mon 15 Dec 2008, 11:06
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

#248 Post by Sylvander »

So should I do nothing more?
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

#249 Post by Dry Falls »

Sylvander wrote:So should I do nothing more?
Right. It's not all that crucial. PupSysInfo refers to the directory, Remove-Builtins uses it, I find it useful for trouble-shooting problem 'upgrades'.

df
User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#250 Post by edoc »

Any idea why I'm getting a "This browser doesn't support video playback" error from Firefox?

This is what I was trying to view:

https://twitter.com/search?q=Jarryd%20H ... _us_sports
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

#251 Post by Dry Falls »

That message occurs with every browser {Icecat, palemoon, firefox, seamonkey, konqueror), including latest firefox under lxpup64. I think the problem is with twitter and not us. I'll try chrome and see what that does.

df
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

#252 Post by Dry Falls »

Doesn't work on Vivaldi or opera.
Works on chromium. Some sort of agreement between twitter and google, I imagine. Nasty!
User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#253 Post by edoc »

Hurts their users and ultimately themselves ... short-sighted, selfish, & dumb.
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

#254 Post by Dry Falls »

What you said!

ps: To run Opera from loadeed sfs, type/copy into terminal:

Code: Select all

chmod 4755 /usr/lib64/opera/opera_sandbox
df

edit: Also, make sure 'block popups' is disabled and java script is enabled in any browser to run cups as spot, as that will block the password dialog to set up the printer.
Last edited by Dry Falls on Thu 10 Sep 2015, 09:54, edited 1 time in total.
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

150820-JL64-603.iso___150908-JL64-603.iso.delta

#255 Post by Dry Falls »

uploaded delta patch for last iso (150820-JL64-603.iso___150908-JL64-603.iso.delta). mdsums check out but haven't tried booting from it. Should work.

df

additional attachment accommodates 'choose-browser' to palemoon and replaces cups wizard at startup with system-config-printer.
Attachments
150910.tar.gz
(7.8 KiB) Downloaded 153 times
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

cups

#256 Post by Dry Falls »

removed root entries for .mozilla, palemoon config directories and caches in profile.sfs. Now cups works in any browser first-run. Note for icecat: uncheck "Block execution of non-free JavaScript (experimental)" on icecat startpage (about:icecat). CUPS requires popup & javascript to log in. That has been the problem before. It's all in browser preferences, which should ootb enable js and popups.
Last edited by Dry Falls on Sat 12 Sep 2015, 12:07, edited 1 time in total.
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

#257 Post by Dry Falls »

uploaded seamonkey-2.35-x86_64.sfs and added some startup configuration changes to profile.sfs
Attachments
profile.sfs.fake.gz
(36 KiB) Downloaded 162 times
User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#258 Post by edoc »

edoc wrote:Alkinea has been converting my .odt file to epub and mobi versions just fine ... now it only converts to epub.

Is it possible that loading
hal-0.5.14-x86_64-3.sfs
caused some sort of conflict?

Note: This is on a laptop running an old LH64 version - and on which loading "hal....." did not solve the hulu problem as it did on the JL64 machine.
NOTE: I removed
hal-0.5.14-x86_64-3.sfs
and Alkinea still won't create mobi files any more. Arghhh! It also is not persistent - meaning that after it runs it closes - which isn't helpful as I often want to convert multiple files and want to keep the settings - just change them slightly.

I am hoping someone else here uses Alkinea, in case the problem is a Puppy thing, but will also look on their site for a help forum.

NOTE2: I tried to install Calibre from Binary (they warn against using distro version):

http://calibre-ebook.com/download_linux

sudo -v && wget -nv -O- https://raw.githubusercontent.com/kovid ... staller.py | sudo python -c "import sys; main=lambda:sys.stderr.write('Download failed\n'); exec(sys.stdin.read()); main()"
I deleted the leading "sudo -v && " and the "sudo" in the middle and got a python error.

Is it likely this can be made to work or are the dependencies, etc. just more trouble than it's worth?
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Dry Falls
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 23:37
Location: Upper Columbia

#259 Post by Dry Falls »

ebooktools and mobipocket are already built in from sourceforge & slackware 14.1 repos. A conflict with other versions might be expected. If Alkinea worked on LH64, which is SL14,0, there may be a glib/gcc difference.

Either way, make sure you have the kde addon (and/or possibly devx for
python) loaded. Bear in mind that most of what's in the kde addon is
NOT just a window manager.

Also, check out PPM before trusting "strangers" when dealing with binaries. fd64 repo probably has something (in sfs/600 or sfs/700 that will probably work for you. Also check out 0micko's 64 bit stuff for likely compatible packages.
Alkinea wrote: Current version: beta 3.33

Alkinea is available for Windows, OS X and Linux.

Windows XP, Vista, 7 & 8 Download
Windows portable (no installer) Download
Mac - OS X Download
Linux (Fedora 14 x86_64, requires Qt 4.7) Download

To convert to Kindle, you also need to download KindleGen from Amazon.
Fedora packages often install ok, but you may want to extract and rebuild it for JL64. Except for the kindleGen (???) this beta version might just work.

df

ps. calibre from sourceforge is a tar.xz file which suggests a source package. You will need to compile it.
User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#260 Post by edoc »

I have an HP Pavilion g7 running an old version of LH64.

It boots from a little USB stick on which the files in the attached image are held.

Is it possible to boot from a USB stick but store the operating files on the laptop?

This thing has what was, at least at the time (quite a while back), one of the troublesome versions of UEFI.

Thanks!
Attachments
stuffg7bootusb1-sm1.jpg
(79.68 KiB) Downloaded 431 times
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Post Reply