Page 2 of 4

Posted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 18:03
by sc0ttman
sinc wrote:
chrismt wrote:version 0.4 is giving me an error
same error here. v.4 not working right.
What version of Puppy are you using? Did you run in from the terminal and read its errors?
Did previous versions work?
Cos 0.4 works fine for me - I can't actually get it to fail on Puppy 4.2.1 ... :roll:

Posted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 23:43
by BarryK
sc0ttman,
You have not full applied my fixes.

The problem is that a line like this can break things:

cat /etc/hosts /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4} |grep ^[1-9] |sed '/^$/d' |sed "s/\t/ /g"|sed '/^#/d' |sed 's/ / /g' |dos2unix -u |sort |uniq > /etc/hosts

You need to do it like this:

ETCHOSTS="`cat /etc/hosts /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4} |grep ^[1-9] |sed '/^$/d' |sed "s/\t/ /g"|sed '/^#/d' |sed 's/ / /g' |dos2unix -u |sort |uniq`"
echo "$ETCHOSTS" > /etc/hosts

Posted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 01:38
by technosaurus
sorry, that was my bad - you can't (or at least shouldn't) pipe a file back to itself (possible endless loop) - ... switched to using an original backup instead - fix posted below original code

Posted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 06:30
by sc0ttman
BarryK wrote:sc0ttman,
You have not full applied my fixes.
Whoops.. Updated to 0.5, all fixes added (i think!)

0.5 should work fine again now.

Posted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 09:53
by chrismt
sc0ttman wrote:
sinc wrote:
chrismt wrote:version 0.4 is giving me an error
same error here. v.4 not working right.
What version of Puppy are you using? Did you run in from the terminal and read its errors?
Did previous versions work?
Cos 0.4 works fine for me - I can't actually get it to fail on Puppy 4.2.1 ... :roll:
I was testing this on Puppy 5.1

Version 5 is working but I am not sure if it downloaded all the 4 ticked lists because when i click the EDIT button, I can only see a few blocked address

I think, just think, it is only downloading a single list not every lists

I wish someone verified this

Thanks anyway for this cool Pet

Posted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 12:36
by sc0ttman
chrismt wrote:[Version 5 is working but I am not sure if it downloaded all the 4 ticked lists because when i click the EDIT button, I can only see a few blocked address

I think, just think, it is only downloading a single list not every lists

I wish someone verified this

Thanks anyway for this cool Pet
Perhaps you could download each list separately, copy the lists each time to a new text file and compare the results.

Technobeta has around 2,000 results, as does Yoyo, while the others have more like 20,000 entries..
After selecting and downloading all fours lists, I get a total of around 30,300 entries.

Or you could comment out the line in the 'cleanup' function, to see each downloaded list. (The line to comment out starts with the 'rm' command, followed by a list of the 4 downloaded ad list files).

Logo for Advert-Blocker

Posted: Wed 01 Sep 2010, 21:03
by vovchik
Dear scottman et al.,

Here is a nice logo for the gtkdialog script that you might consider using :)

With kind regards,
vovchik

PS. Thanks for the app.

Posted: Thu 02 Sep 2010, 06:37
by chrismt
I am not a designer or anything and I am not sure if modifying an icon is pirating

I am impressed with both these icons of Adblock and AdThwart

You must think about making a logo similar in nature, like red color because the color red has become to symbolize ad-blocking for some time

If it is not pirating, then modifying these icons with Puppy logo can do good.

Posted: Thu 02 Sep 2010, 12:41
by sc0ttman
Nice icons, good stuff... Barry K also made one, which is in Woof, I wonder what that looks like..
Would need them all to compare.. :)

Also, is 0.5 working for everyone?

I'm not entirely sure I fixed it right, although as I said earlier, it seems to always work in 4.2 :roll:

Posted: Thu 02 Sep 2010, 14:37
by chrismt
sc0ttman wrote:
Also, is 0.5 working for everyone?

I'm not entirely sure I fixed it right, although as I said earlier, it seems to always work in 4.2 :roll:
My problem with Puppy AdStopper in Puppy 5.1 seems to have fixed :D

I updated all the list and I counted the number of blocked lines and it is around 29452

I guess, this is what you will get if you update all the lists

Thanks!

Posted: Thu 02 Sep 2010, 19:42
by sc0ttman
chrismt wrote:
sc0ttman wrote:
Also, is 0.5 working for everyone?

I'm not entirely sure I fixed it right, although as I said earlier, it seems to always work in 4.2 :roll:
My problem with Puppy AdStopper in Puppy 5.1 seems to have fixed :D

I updated all the list and I counted the number of blocked lines and it is around 29452

I guess, this is what you will get if you update all the lists

Thanks!
Yep, thats very close indeed to what I got last time I updated...

Posted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 21:46
by fyujj
Hope not to be hacking this forum thread, but I'm interested in technosaurus' version because it can be run even from the cli. The latest version still didn't work, it creates a /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4} but it's empty and so its links too.

Code: Select all

root@debian:/tmp# ls -l
total 1460
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 618540 Ago 18 14:45 adlist1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root      0 Set  3 18:35 adlist{1,2,3,4}
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 733138 Ago 31 06:56 adlist2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  54885 Fev 12  2008 adlist3
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  72249 Ago 19 22:01 adlist4

Posted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 05:08
by technosaurus
fyujj wrote:

Code: Select all

root@[b]debian[/b]:/tmp# ls -l
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root      0 Set  3 18:35 adlist{1,2,3,4}
that is odd - could it be that your /bin/sh is pointing to dash?
I thought it was standard behavior to expand adlist{1,2,3,4} to adlist1 adlist2....

Posted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 12:01
by fyujj
technosaurus wrote:that is odd - could it be that your /bin/sh is pointing to dash?
Yes, I'm in Debian.
I have bash installed too and it's the default interactive shell as set in /etc/adduser.conf (I saw that in Debian's wiki and confirmed here).
Also, just for information, /bin/sh.distrib links to bash:

Code: Select all

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root      4 Ago 13 21:48 sh -> dash
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root      4 Jul 28 23:03 sh.distrib -> bash
I'm just saying, as dash is the default shell in Debian but maybe I could call the app in a different way (like /bin/bash script) and then it would work.

-edit: I tried both scripts (the first one and the second one that has the extra option to disable adblock) with /bin/bash. They both created empty files in /etc/hosts (the first directly and the second by linking to an empty /etc/hosts.adblock). The difference to when using dash is that the script this time deleted the downloaded files in /tmp while with dash they were kept there.

Posted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 15:39
by fyujj
I left the script like this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
DIALOG=dialog || DIALOG=dialog
[ ! -f /etc/hosts.usr ] && touch /etc/hosts && cp -f /etc/hosts /etc/hosts.usr #echo 127.0.0.1 localhost puppypc >/etc/hosts #r1 maybe user added others
for x in `$DIALOG --stdout --checklist "Choose your ad blocking service(s)" 0 0 5 1 "mvps.org" ON 2 "systcl.org" ON 3 "technobeta.com" ON 4 "yoyo.org" ON 5 "turn off adblocking" off |tr "/" " " |tr '\"' ' '`; do
   case $x in
   1)wget -c -4 -t 0 -O /tmp/adlist1 'http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.txt';;
   2)wget -c -4 -t 0 -O /tmp/adlist2 'http://sysctl.org/cameleon/hosts';;
   3)wget -c -4 -t 0 -O /tmp/adlist3 'http://www.technobeta.com/download/urlfilter.ini';;
   4)wget -c -4 -t 0 -O /tmp/adlist4 'http://pgl.yoyo.org/as/serverlist.php?hostformat=hosts&showintro=0&mimetype=plaintext';;
   5)ln -sf /etc/hosts.usr /etc/hosts && exit;;
   *)echo $x;;
   esac
done
touch /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4}
cat /etc/hosts.usr /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4} |sed 's/^[ \t]*//' |sed 's/\t/ /g' |sed 's/  / /g' |grep ^[1-9] |dos2unix -u |sort |uniq > /etc/hosts.adblock
ln -sf /etc/hosts.adblock /etc/hosts
and it doesn't create anymore /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4}. The four files are in /tmp

Code: Select all

root@debian:/tmp# ls -l
total 1460
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 618540 Set  4 12:34 adlist1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 733138 Set  4 12:34 adlist2
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  54885 Set  4 12:34 adlist3
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  72249 Set  4 12:34 adlist4
but /etc/hosts.adblock and /etc/hosts are blank.

Posted: Thu 16 Sep 2010, 11:30
by technosaurus
here is an entry that redirects bing.com to google

74.125.157.147 bing.com

Posted: Tue 28 Sep 2010, 01:52
by fyujj
Here's another hosts list
http://someonewhocares.org/hosts/

Posted: Sat 04 Dec 2010, 11:37
by sc0ttman
fyujj wrote:Here's another hosts list
http://someonewhocares.org/hosts/
Thanks for the list, I've been using it for a while to see whether or not to include it in a newer version of pup-advert-blocker...

But if anyone cares, the list above seems to break too many things, and causes a few websites to hang.. Most notably (for me) 4od and other video sites..

And considering it's not a list of 20,000 or so, that's quite a lot of things in there that I don't want blocked.

Posted: Sat 04 Dec 2010, 13:43
by yordanj94
Hi.
Can i use that program instead of Adblock Plus
or AP has some more function and it's good to have them both ?
Thanks in advance.

Posted: Sat 04 Dec 2010, 15:35
by sc0ttman
yordanj94 wrote:Hi.
Can i use that program instead of Adblock Plus
or AP has some more function and it's good to have them both ?
Thanks in advance.
You could use them both.

Pup-Advert-Blocker edits the '/etc/hosts' file so that the listed ad servers cannot even connect properly..
They're redirected away, so it makes browsing a bit faster.

AdBlock-Plus checks the stuff after its downloaded - it doesn't save any bandwidth.
But AdBlock-Plus allows you to click on any advert you see and block it, so that's nice.

This tool does not conflict with AdBlock-Plus in any way (as far as I know)