Page 2 of 3

Posted: Wed 14 Jan 2009, 23:34
by hillside
Ah. Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner. It's so cold here I'm dealing with freezing pipes. I'll be glad when spring comes.

Let me start by saying I think you have done an exceptional job and I'm looking forward to new releases.

Here's what I did.

I made a table in a new database and entered some data.
While in the grid view, I opened the SQL query editor.
I wrote a simple query and ran it. It ran perfectly.
I clicked on the "Export Results" button inside the editor.
I entered a file name and clicked csv.
I clicked column names as first row and clicked comma for the separator.
Then I clicked "Export" and got the error I listed earlier.

I didn't report the error because I'm not 100 percent certain that Puppy linux has a full version of Sqlite, but I think it does. I'm hoping that as your project matures, it will be the best tool to introduce people to Sqlite while at the same time being a useful tool for those of us who need a basic database system.

Posted: Thu 15 Jan 2009, 09:20
by googie
It is important for me to know how did the SQL query look like? I know it was simple, but it will help me to understeand problem.

I think that I have solved problem, but when I would see the query, then I could quess if this is related.

P.S. SQLite database can be (generally) compiled in 2 ways - with Tcl support or without it. Anyway it doesn't matter what SQLite installation you have on your system if you're using binary distribution of SQLiteStudio, since SQLiteStudio binaries already include SQLite libraries, so you can use it even without SQLite installed.

Posted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 00:35
by hillside
googie,

The query that I ran was very simple:

SELECT Firstname, City, State FROM Names WHERE Lastname = "Smith";

Like I say the query worked perfectly. I had about 100 records in the database and I got all the data I expected and only the data I expected. The query editor gave me a view of my selected data just as expected. I tried to export the selected data while still in the query editor. That is when I got the error.

Thanks for your efforts. I'll be trying your next update.

Posted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 17:41
by googie
Ok, I think the best way to check it out would be if you download my development version of 1.1.2 from here: http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/files/sqlite ... 2-pre1.bin

...and try it. Let me know if it solved your problem.

Please don't redistribute it, since this is incomplete version and final 1.1.2 will be released for 2 weeks or so.

Posted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 18:40
by hillside
googie,

I wish I had better news for you.

I downloaded your development version and made a trial for each export type. csv, html, sql, and xml.

In each case, I no longer get an error message.
In each case, I get a message saying my data has been exported to the correct file name.
But in no case is a file actually created. :(

I'm going to be an optimist and say this is progress.

Posted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 18:53
by googie
Are you absolutely sure? It's strange, because if "success" message is displayed then no errors occured during exporing, including creation of file.

It is possible (in case of some error), that exported file is empty, but any problems with creation of file should be reported to user.

Could you recheck it, please?

Posted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 22:19
by hillside
I have good news. And I have something that needs explaining.

When I tested again, I got the same result. No file was written. I tested six times with different file names and data types and the system did NOT write the file.

Then, I tried including a path with the file name. I used:
/testfile.txt

Suddenly success!!! My file is written in the root directory and it has my data. I tested with several different paths and in each case it worked.

The system still doesn't export the headings, but I can live with that for now. Is there a reason I need to give a path along with the file name? I assumed it would write the file to the current directory or some standard location. So, now I just need to remember to include a path with my file name.

Posted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 22:31
by hillside
Just to let you know. I went back and tested the old verson of sqlitemanager (version 1.1.1) and it would not save my file even if I included a path, so whatever you did in 1.1.2 pre-release made a big difference.

Posted: Fri 16 Jan 2009, 23:27
by googie
Great! :)

So there is one last problem left - with file to export, which I already have diagnosed. I'll fix it in final 1.1.2 as well.

hillside, It's "studio", not "manager" - some "*manager"s author will come here in the moment and kill me :) ...or you ;)

Thanks for your help. It's always pleasure to co-work with people from open source society.

By the way it's first time when I took closer look at Puppy Linux - it's quiet interesting. Maybe I'll try it out on VBox for first.

Sorry to forum admins and moderators for a little offtopic in here. Thanks for your tolerance.

sqlitestudio

Posted: Fri 13 Mar 2009, 17:56
by JohnJS
Has sqlitestudio update been dropped?

See:
Ok, I think the best way to check it out would be if you download my development version of 1.1.2 from here: http://sqlitestudio.one.pl/files/sqlite ... 2-pre1.bin

...and try it. Let me know if it solved your problem.

Please don't redistribute it, since this is incomplete version and final 1.1.2 will be released for 2 weeks or so.

Posted: Tue 31 Mar 2009, 10:04
by googie
No, I just had more bug reports so I needed more time to fix it.
Anyway it's already done and at this moment I'm packaging binary distributions. I'll release 1.1.2 today or tomorrow, hopefully (if packaging won't cause problems).

EDIT:
Ok, packaging needs to wait till weekend (which would be 4-5 of April). Expect release for these days.

SQLiteStudio-2.1.0

Posted: Fri 04 Jan 2013, 12:33
by charlie6
Hi googie,
thanks again for current SQLiteStudio-2.1.0 ...!
just giving here the link to SQLiteStudio:
looks great ! :D
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/SQLiteStudio
just follow the link(s)
best regards
charlie

SQLite studio pls could you make it ready to use

Posted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 02:59
by Pelo
pls could you make it ready to use
Whith a package .pet or a SFS and put it in a PPM.
Thanks a lot.

Posted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 05:20
by 2byte
Pelo

It's ready to use as it is. Just download sqlitestudio to /root/my-applications/bin, open a terminal and run

Code: Select all

 chmod u+x /root/my-applications/bin/sqlitestudio-2.1.0.bin 
to make it executable.

Sqlitestudio

Posted: Fri 25 Jan 2013, 00:38
by Pelo
Where is the mistake in screenshot here below ?
Thanks for help
Pelo

Posted: Fri 25 Jan 2013, 00:45
by Makoto
You're missing the space between u+x and /root/my-applications/bin/sqlitestudio-2.1.0.bin.

SQLiteStudio ? What is great ?

Posted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 02:07
by Pelo
Awfull database, ugly, no data import !
Perhaps I dont understand anything. I shall try it again.
SQLiteman looks better.
Kexi is quite OK
Portabase too
The best would have been PPDB Puppy Data Base but Nobody cared of it.
The best way : use add-on Firefox or seamonkey SQLITE manager.

Database

Posted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 14:23
by Jactek
Im running Saluki on my old asus eee 701, i installed dosemu and hve been running n old dos database called Q&A by Symantic i used it at work for about 15 years and when I retired boss sid to throw it away they were going to Access so I threw it away to me. Works well and you my be able to use other old dos databases too.
Just an other option
Jim

Databases sqliteman sqlitestudio sqlite something

Posted: Sat 02 Mar 2013, 16:02
by Pelo
Sqliteman : ok there is a pet
sqlitestudio ! make a pet of it
The most important is to join image and url to to make a file of the object.
Sqlite is already include in puppy, but not easy to use by poor and lonesome geeks as us.
osmo can do it

Posted: Sun 03 Mar 2013, 18:57
by Jim1911
Libreoffice has a database program that may meet your needs. To install in puppy, try 01micko's fine Get Libreoffic here