Fatdog64-700/701 [April 22 2015] [CLOSED]

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1799
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#181 Post by SFR »

Aung wrote: Everything is OK at shieldup, the ping 's not going to worry me, not doing any Wolves of Wall St. boiler room stuff, AISIO or NSA wont find much.
I'm using this to disable ping response:

Code: Select all

echo 1 >/proc/sys/net/ipv4/icmp_echo_ignore_all
I have it placed in /etc/rc.d/rc.local.
___________

rox-encfs

This package has two groups of right-click entries (in .inode_directory and .inode_mount-point) and when I install an app that also uses /etc/xdg/rox.sourceforge.net/SendTo/ location, these groups may become broken up, e.g.:
...
Add Encryption
Change Password
Open Encrypted Folder
PackIt
Remove Encryption
...

what doesn't look good...

What about prepending, for instance, an INVISIBLE SEPARATOR char to all those entries, what will group them together and place at the bottom of the list, e.g.:

Code: Select all

I=`echo -e '\xe2\x81\xa3'`
cd /etc/xdg/rox.sourceforge.net/SendTo/.inode_directory/
mv "Add Encryption" "${I}Add Encryption"
mv "Change Password" "${I}Change Password"
(and so on...)
Or something similar in principle..?

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]
User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#182 Post by Semme »

Nope. It appears 700 sports the limited driver:

Code: Select all

# iwconfig wlan0 | grep "Tx-Power"
          Bit Rate=72.2 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
# iw reg set BO
# iwconfig wlan0 txpower 33
# iwconfig wlan0 | grep "Tx-Power"
          Bit Rate=72.2 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm
From FreedomBen, GitHub..
It has been modified to allow you to transmit at up to 33 dBm instead of the stock driver hard limit of 20 dBm, regardless of your CRDA regulatory domain. This is a substantial increase in capability because every 3 dB increase is equivalent to a doubling of the power. IOTW, you can pump out 4x more Tx power than before.
Any help JB?
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#183 Post by rcrsn51 »

@Semme: There was much discussion in the Tahrpup thread (pg 35) about this group of Realtek PCI drivers in recent kernels.

Phil eventually rebuilt them using the driver from here. These worked better.
User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#184 Post by Semme »

Hey, thanks.. You're a good man rcrsn51.

Now I take if I have the devx, kernel src and git installed I can clone this directory and build the driver?

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/lwfinger/rtlwifi_new.git
Does this mean I'd have to unload and possibly blacklist the existing rtl* modules?

I'll try to inform myself in the meantime..
User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#185 Post by rcrsn51 »

Semme wrote:Now I take if I have the devx, kernel src and git installed I can clone this directory and build the driver?
At the bottom of the page, there is a Download ZIP button that gets you the source package.
Does this mean I'd have to unload and possibly blacklist the existing rtl* modules?
IIRC, the new files just over-write the old versions.
User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#186 Post by Semme »

I booted live, loaded my build tools, ran make, then:

Code: Select all

# make install
make -C /lib/modules/3.18.7/build M=/tmp/rtlwifi_new-master modules
make[1]: Entering directory '/usr/src/linux-3.18.7'
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 14 modules
make[1]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-3.18.7'
Making backups
Install rtlwifi SUCCESS!
Good. For: /lib/modules/3.18.7/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/rtlwifi/rtl8192ce/rtl8192ce.ko, props show change, mod and access times as NOW.

Assuming my connection now uses this rtlwifi driver, I hit the wpa_gui, loaded the passwd and got a connection.

While it seems to have held for a while, its signal strength doesn't appear to have improved.

Is there something I left out or need to do in order to bump the speed or strength?

As my first foray into the wonderful world of wireless, I welcome your advice.
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#187 Post by rcrsn51 »

In the Tahrpup thread, the main problem was drop-outs. Now that you have a build system in place, try the FreedomBen driver instead.
kirk
Posts: 1553
Joined: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 19:04
Location: florida

#188 Post by kirk »

Semme,

I made a package of the drivers that rcrsn51 linked to. It's here:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/packag ... 6_64-1.txz

Can't test it my self.
User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#189 Post by Semme »

Thank you gentlemen.

I couldn't get FreedomBen's driver to compile and haven't yet tried your pkg Kirk.

IPv6 interference? Whadda you guys make'a dis?

/proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/wlan0/disable_ipv6 contains the enabled "0" value.

FD has /sbin/sysctl. How could FD boot a disabled value of "one?"

I'll have a play in the meantime..

==

FreedomBen, (inexperienced?) user comment >> https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php ... 6#p1444976

Hmm, kernel 3.16.1? >> https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php ... 9#p1447839

I realize we're dealing with a *TOTAL* POS and wouldn't expect any dev to backpedal.

Not quite the same situation, but, unusual to say the least.

What I haven't come across is a ndiswrapper solution.

Give it a go? Hey, I can run with it..
olinm
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 09 Dec 2014, 23:23

#190 Post by olinm »

Everyone needs to update their flash again as load of bad vulnerabilities have been found and patched.

quote:

" Adobe is listing the patch as a top deployment priority for Windows, OS X and Linux systems. "

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/03/12 ... urity_fix/

:arrow:
User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#191 Post by Semme »

:D Please..

:D:wink: Everyone..

Place your head between your knees and kiss your... *..

Goodbye!

This is where :roll: we're headed..
User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#192 Post by rcrsn51 »

@Semme: For the benefit of other users, could you report the results of your tests with the new Realtek PCI WiFi driver. Something more than "it seems better" would be helpful.
User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#193 Post by Semme »

Easy big guy, I'm still testing. Kirk, thanks for the build.

What I can comment on is that I think I needed the save environment to reboot after installing Kirks pkg. Seems to have went well as the wireless icon in the tray started spitting out connection notices upon reaching the desktop. I can also say that after covering plenty of threads involving this driver that folks mentioned soso performance unless they were in the same room as their connection box. Living across the way from me I noticed poor reception when there was a wall between us and an instant jump when the only restrictions were windows.

All in all pretty good. So far I haven't undergone any dropouts and their ISP, Optimum, has shown reasonable speeds of 12.68mbp's down, 5.33mbp's up.

@ the moment I'm rather enjoying the experience. An overly twitchy touchpad is the only thing left before handing this baby over..
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
kirk
Posts: 1553
Joined: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 19:04
Location: florida

#194 Post by kirk »

An overly twitchy touchpad is the only thing left before handing this baby over..
If "Adjust Touch Pad" on the Desktop tab in the Fatdog64 control panel doesn't help you can try libinput. See:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/touchpad.html
User avatar
Ted Dog
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 02:35
Location: Heart of Texas

#195 Post by Ted Dog »

lid close problem may be related to X, I found putting killall X early in script suspend.sh allows my laptop to come out of deep sleep (mem) and back to the prompt (for me to type xwin) not the best solution. Changing mem to standby also works (without killall X) but really does not save much energy fan keeps running etc.
User avatar
Ted Dog
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 02:35
Location: Heart of Texas

#196 Post by Ted Dog »

Is removing packages supported before a remaster now?
jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#197 Post by jamesbond »

Ted Dog wrote:Is removing packages supported before a remaster now?
It does. When the Rox filer window appears, you're supposed to be able to open a terminal to that folder and do "ROOT=`pwd` removepkg whatever" and that should remove the package, but there is a bug that prevents it from working.

For the time being, you can remove the package normally, and then do the remaster.

@SFR: thanks for pointing that one out. Instead of invisible separator, perhaps I will prefix them with something more visible (but since they're given the same prefix they should remain grouped together).

@olinm: good thing we have that flash updater. Time to use it :)

@L18L: is there anything I need to do on my side for the serbian locale thing you've been playing with?
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]
User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

locale variants and options

#198 Post by L18L »

jamesbond wrote:@L18L: is there anything I need to do on my side for the serbian locale thing you've been playing with?
Just for all variants, without colon and with options as you were saying,
Nothing especially for Serbian.

Maybe a "quick keymap switcher" or toggler (if you like it) would be appreciated by GUI-freaks.

The Serbian translator, who needs both, cyr and lat, can use setxkmap in console.
mekalu2k4
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue 22 Apr 2014, 21:29

how to packages to Fatdog64?

#199 Post by mekalu2k4 »

Hello all,

I am a noob here, for long waited for touch based puppy. Now that Fatdog64 is now touch based, I finally could install this onto my Dell XPS 18inch tablet; working very nicely.

I want to a few packages to this distro [like libre-office, compiz; etc]. However, I have several questions:

1. pets and sfs from puppy linux will work on this? Can I download them and install?

2. i have seen a few packages here http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/sfs/700/
is it the case that only these packages will work on this distro?

3. How to install sfs on fatdog?

4. how to install pet on fatdog?

Thanks in advance!
Aung
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat 20 Jan 2007, 03:30
Location: Hervey Bay

#200 Post by Aung »

SFR I still receive pings, It doesnt worry me much, 007 reckons thats not a problem, maybe something to do with his new config of 'tables. As long as I am not using doze, thats all that matters, but thanks.
Post Reply