Page 7 of 51
Posted: Sat 13 Jun 2015, 11:29
by otoshan
Good release, thanks. How can i change to non root user account by default?
Posted: Sat 13 Jun 2015, 12:04
by saintless
DebianDog has user account puppy included or you can create new user using System -> Add New User GUI menu.
For both versions (Jwm and OpenBox) you can change the default autologin from root to user by editing:
For sysvinit boot change root to puppy (or new created user name) in /etc/inittab:
Code: Select all
1:2345:respawn:/bin/login -f root </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1
For systemd boot change root to puppy (or new created user name) in /etc/systemd/system/getty.target.wants:
Code: Select all
ExecStart=-/sbin/agetty --noclear -a root %I 38400
In case using Jwm version typing in terminal xdm-start will boot to xdm login prompt.
Typing xdm-stop will restore autologin as root.
Toni
very good but not auto saved
Posted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 04:40
by way12go
This distro is very good but why can't I autosave? I even downloaded the 1 GB save file and my 250 GB root partition say there is only 30 MB left
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=99795
Re: very good but not auto saved
Posted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 05:17
by saintless
Please, post which DebianDog iso (download link will help) and the boot code (or boot menu entry title) from grub menu and give more details what is the partition type (ext, fat, ntfs) where DebianDog is installed and how is installed (using DebianDog-installer or different way).
My advice is to use porteus-boot method as closer to puppy linux save options:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 456#774456
In case you used debiandog-installer and it is installed on ext2, ext3 or ext4 partition you should have for example boot title entry "Debian-PorteusDog - changes to /live/ sysvinit" which will auto-save the changes in folder /live/changes. The boot code looks like this one (note uuid number will be different for your partition):
Code: Select all
title Debian-PorteusDog - changes to /live/ sysvinit
uuid '"$UUID"'
kernel /live/vmlinuz1 from=/ noauto changes=/live/
initrd /live/initrd1.xz
If you create file changes.dat inside /live (where 01-filesystem.squashfs, vmlinuz and initrd1.xz files are) you can use this boot code to save changes in save file changes.dat (you can also simply rename the 1Gb save file to changes.dat and place it inside live folder):
Code: Select all
title Debian-PorteusDog - changes to /live/changes.dat sysvinit
uuid '"$UUID"'
kernel /live/vmlinuz1 from=/ noauto changes=/live/changes.dat
initrd /live/initrd1.xz
way12go wrote:I need
1. auto save
2. Battery app for laptop
and
3. Backlight set to 10 instead of 100
1. Already answered above. If you still have troubles post the details I asked.
2. Try in terminal:
Code: Select all
apt-get update
apt-get install xbattbar
After installing xbattbar to make it autostart create link in /root/Startup:
Code: Select all
ln -s /usr/bin/xbattbar /root/Startup
Exit X and startx again. You will see the battery bar indicator.
3. Try installing xbacklight (you need to run
apt-get update only one time if you have saving changes working):
Code: Select all
apt-get update
apt-get install xbacklight
Set it from terminal to 10:
If it works for you I will attach script with this line to add it in /root/Startup folder and it will be auto-started on boot like xbattbar.
Toni
menu.lst modified and solved
Posted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 06:29
by way12go
menu.lst modified and solved
# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
timeout 0
default 0
title Debian-PorteusDog - changes to /live/ systemd
uuid 5f4b4d23-648e-432d-aaa9-2157a8f5c895
kernel /live/vmlinuz1 from=/ noauto changes=/live/ init=/bin/systemd
initrd /live/initrd1.xz
title Reboot computer
reboot
Re: menu.lst modified and solved
Posted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 07:33
by way12go
If it works for you I will attach script with this line to add it in /root/Startup folder and it will be auto-started on boot like xbattbar.
It works, thanks a lot.
Please post the script.
Thanks again.
Update:
After restart the backlight is already saved, no need for script.
No battery icon
Posted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 07:37
by way12go
After I restarted the system there is no battery icon or status.
Re: No battery icon
Posted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 08:16
by saintless
way12go wrote:After I restarted the system there is no battery icon or status.
Install xbattbar
Code: Select all
apt-get install xbattbar
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
libpython-stdlib libpython2.7-minimal libpython2.7-stdlib python
python-minimal python2.7 python2.7-minimal
Suggested packages:
python-doc python-tk python2.7-doc binutils binfmt-support
Recommended packages:
acpi
The following NEW packages will be installed:
libpython-stdlib libpython2.7-minimal libpython2.7-stdlib python
python-minimal python2.7 python2.7-minimal xbattbar
0 upgraded, 8 newly installed, 0 to remove and 21 not upgraded.
Need to get 4105 kB of archives.
After this operation, 16.4 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] y
Create link in /root/Startup:
Code: Select all
ln -s /usr/bin/xbattbar /root/Startup
Check if the xbattbar link is created:
Code: Select all
ls /root/Startup
exec_lxrandr-autostart freechk parcellite xbattbar
Exit X and startx (or reboot).
My battery is dead but there is green line indicator on the bottom and information on mouse over in the middle of the screen. Attached screenshot.
Edit: Maybe it is better to install also the recommended package acpi.
And reading the description
laptop-mode-tools also could be useful package:
Code: Select all
apt-get install laptop-mode-tools hdparm
Posted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 09:27
by saintless
Or just forget about xbattbar and install fdpowermon:
Then create link in /root/Startup:
Code: Select all
ln -s /usr/bin/fdpowermon /root/Startup
Exit X and startx.
I'm sure you can find more alternatives in Debian repository but fdpowermon seems to work well and it is small (it has less dependencies compared to xbattbar).
To remove xbattbar type:
Code: Select all
apt-get purge xbattbar
apt-get autoremove
And delete ths link /root/Startup/xbattbar from file manager or from terminal:
Edit: fixed typo from f
bpowermon to f
dpowermon.
Toni
sources file problem
Posted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 09:43
by way12go
sources file problem
root@jessie:~# apt-get purge xbattbar
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages will be REMOVED:
xbattbar*
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 1 to remove and 22 not upgraded.
After this operation, 29.7 kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] y
(Reading database ... 34725 files and directories currently installed.)
Removing xbattbar (1.4.5-1) ...
Purging configuration files for xbattbar (1.4.5-1) ...
Processing triggers for menu (2.1.47) ...
root@jessie:~# apt-get autoremove
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 22 not upgraded.
root@jessie:~# rm -f /root/Startup/xbattbar
root@jessie:~# apt-get install fbpowermon
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package fbpowermon
root@jessie:~#
Re: sources file problem
Posted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 09:51
by saintless
way12go wrote:
sources file problem
E: Unable to locate package fbpowermon
Sorry, way12go, typo error. My mistake.
It is fdpowermon
Not fbpowermon.
I will edit the previous post.
Toni
Problem solved
Posted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 10:02
by way12go
Problem solved
Thanks a lot.
Posted: Sun 21 Jun 2015, 01:38
by ocpaul20
sorry - I got it sorted. Thanks.
===========================
Puppy DebianDog
Title Debian-PorteusDog
uuid 35d41cfe-3964-4255-bf3e-fe9fc7a9406c
kernel /live/vmlinuz1 from=/ noauto changes=/live/saves/
initrd /live/initrd1.xz
Posted: Sun 21 Jun 2015, 07:47
by augras
Hello,
I try to use debiandog jessie but how can i do to get french langage ?
Thanks,
Philippe
Posted: Sun 21 Jun 2015, 08:53
by saintless
Hi, Philippe.
augras wrote:...but how can i do to get french langage ?
The locale files are moved in separate sfs (squashfs) module. Download the one for OpenBox or Jwm version from the link in the first post or from sfs-get:
saintless wrote:To keep the size small as posible all /usr/share/locale files for the included packages are moved in separate squashfs module (00-locale-files-jessie-openbox_xfce.squashfs and 00-locale-files-jwm-icewm-jessie.squashfs) available for download from sfs-get or from
here.
In case you like to change the localization install
locales and load the module or place it inside /live/image/live to be loaded at boot time.
You can also install localepurge and copy only the language files you need from the squashfs module in /usr/share/locale directory to save space in the future.
If you like to keep the size small as possible just open the squashfs module with single click and copy in /usr/share/locale only the french language folders.
Then install locales and localepurge:
Code: Select all
apt-get update
apt-get install locales localepurge
And reconfigure the localization running in terminal:
More information and Russian and Japan examples from Sergey and Balloon you can find here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 594#750594
http://sakurapup.browserloadofcoolness. ... 5f0#p19267
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 366#771366
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 337#771337
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 238#771238
Toni
Posted: Sun 21 Jun 2015, 14:19
by augras
Hi Toni
Thanks for your answer,
I download the locale file for openbox because it is the window manager i use, mount the squashfs file, select fr language folder and copy it to /usr/share/locale,
In a terminal apt-get update and apt-get install locales localepurge and after dpkg-reconfigure locales.
In a terminal
Code: Select all
echo "LANG=\"fr_FR.UTF-8\"" > /etc/default/locale
export LANGUAGE=fr_FR.UTF-8
export LANG=fr_FR.UTF-8
export LC_ALL=C
locale-gen fr_FR.UTF-8
I am not in french language even qfter a reboot !
I am with a laptop and still in qwerty keyboard ! It is not easy,
In puppy linux there is an application at first boot and you can use it when you want, to choose you language/keyboard/time...
I try the command menu-debian but doesn t exist,
I still need so;e help !
Philippe
Posted: Sun 21 Jun 2015, 15:23
by saintless
Sorry, the instruction I gave you was not for keyboard layout or timezone, but only to display the programs menu in french language. There is no menu-debian in OpenBox version (only in Jwm).
augras wrote:In puppy linux there is an application at first boot and you can use it when you want, to choose you language/keyboard/time...
It is Debian and the tools are different from Puppy.
I'm not in OpenBox version at the moment but find in the menu Keyboard layout or type/copy:
Code: Select all
dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration
and follow the instructions in the terminal window. Make sure to choose key to toggle the english and french layout (Alt+Shift for example). You need to reboot after that.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 227#773227
For time zone find in the menu Set TimeZone (or similar in OpenBox) or type/copy in terminal:
And follow the instruction in the terminal window. No need to reboot after that.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 228#773228
Toni
Posted: Sun 21 Jun 2015, 15:51
by augras
I didn't ask for keyboard and timezone at first, don't worry.
After a new reboot i'm now in french language, but a lot of things are not in french. I thought french language came from debian and thet everything will be in french.
For the keyboard and timezone, with your instructions, it works fine : thank you very much for your quick answer.
I save in a folder and it works fine.
I would like to boot completely in ram without the save folder and nothing, just like in live, it's a good thing to test without break anything.
My menu.lst is actually like this :
Code: Select all
title DebianDog Jessie (frugal install)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /ddog_jessie/live/vmlinuz1 noauto from=/ddog_jessie/ changes=/ddog_jessie/live/
initrd /ddog_jessie/live/initrd1.xz
Which code must i use to boot from my frugal install but in ram without my save ?
Thanks again,
Philippe
Posted: Sun 21 Jun 2015, 16:15
by fredx181
augras wrote:Which code must i use to boot from my frugal install but in ram without my save ?
That would be like this (adding copy2ram, without changes= )
Code: Select all
title DebianDog Jessie (frugal install)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /ddog_jessie/live/vmlinuz1 noauto from=/ddog_jessie/ copy2ram
initrd /ddog_jessie/live/initrd1.xz
Good luck!
Fred
Posted: Sun 21 Jun 2015, 16:24
by saintless
augras wrote:I thought french language came from debian and thet everything will be in french.
Unfortunately I must say the special DebianDog scripts and menu entries are only in english. You can see the programs with french language support inside /usr/share/locale/fr/LC_MESSAGES. But with some experimenting you should get almost everything in french language (reading the link for Japan localization from Balloon). For example if you replace firefox-portable (it is not debian official package and also has only english) with official iceweasel you can install the french files for it:
Code: Select all
apt-get purge firefox-portable
apt-get install iceweasel iceweasel-l10n-fr
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/iceweasel-l10n-fr
Maybe also:
Code: Select all
apt-get install task-french task-french-desktop
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/task-french-desktop
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/task-french
Don't forget to remove the downloaded deb packages in /var/cache/apt/archives after that by running:
Toni