Unnamed puplet 1.1 (puppy411 kernel-2.6.28.5 Xorg-7.4 LXDE)
Hellos, great pup and one that has smp enabled (others then NYP and thisone won't run on my laptop Compaq CQ60)
I found some kind of bug with it. I have installed Nvidia drivers wich work perfect, but now i wanted to edit the conky config somewhat to add batterry and stuff when i notice that my bottom bar had vanished and i don't seem to be able to get it back. any pointers? thx in advance.
Another thing is i wanted to use compiz, what exacly do i install ? i got 3d running on this machine just fine. Does compiz run with this LXDE ?
Caved
I found some kind of bug with it. I have installed Nvidia drivers wich work perfect, but now i wanted to edit the conky config somewhat to add batterry and stuff when i notice that my bottom bar had vanished and i don't seem to be able to get it back. any pointers? thx in advance.
Another thing is i wanted to use compiz, what exacly do i install ? i got 3d running on this machine just fine. Does compiz run with this LXDE ?
Caved
CavedOOde,
you have no smp with NYP?
This is strange, because it uses the sam kernel
The scond CPU-bar?
Here is example code for up to 4 cpu bars:
Compiz:
http://puppyisos.org/wow/compiz-fusion/unnamed-pup/
user: puppy, password: linux
Mark
you have no smp with NYP?
This is strange, because it uses the sam kernel

What bar?i wanted to edit the conky config somewhat to add batterry and stuff when i notice that my bottom bar had vanished and i don't seem to be able to get it back. any pointers?
The scond CPU-bar?
Here is example code for up to 4 cpu bars:
Code: Select all
CPU 1: ${cpu cpu1}%
${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu1 7,168}$color
${if_existing /proc/acpi/processor/CPU1/info}CPU 2: ${cpu cpu2}%
${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu2 7,168}$color $endif ${if_existing /proc/acpi/processor/P002/info}CPU 2: ${cpu cpu2}%
${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu2 7,168}$color $endif
${if_existing /proc/acpi/processor/CPU3/info}CPU 3: ${cpu cpu3}%
${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu3 7,168}$color $endif ${if_existing /proc/acpi/processor/P003/info}CPU 3: ${cpu cpu3}%
${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu3 7,168}$color $endif
${if_existing /proc/acpi/processor/CPU4/info}CPU 4: ${cpu cpu4}%
${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu4 7,168}$color $endif ${if_existing /proc/acpi/processor/P004/info}CPU 4: ${cpu cpu4}%
${color lightgray}${cpubar cpu4 7,168}$color $endif
Compiz:
http://puppyisos.org/wow/compiz-fusion/unnamed-pup/
user: puppy, password: linux
Mark
Hallos MU, thx for the quick reply but you don't understand what i meant.
NYP, Unnamed and puppy 4.2 SMP are the only pups that run on the machine.
It is not the CPU bars in Conky that dissapeared (i can configure conky).
It is the bottom bar of the screen (the one with the pager on it, lxpanel or what issit?) that dissapears after i install NVIDIA drivers, and i can't get it back.
Thanks for the link to compiz, i will look into it after i resolve the bottom bar issue...
Thanks in advance for any pointers.
Caved
NYP, Unnamed and puppy 4.2 SMP are the only pups that run on the machine.
It is not the CPU bars in Conky that dissapeared (i can configure conky).
It is the bottom bar of the screen (the one with the pager on it, lxpanel or what issit?) that dissapears after i install NVIDIA drivers, and i can't get it back.
Thanks for the link to compiz, i will look into it after i resolve the bottom bar issue...
Thanks in advance for any pointers.
Caved
Hey MU, like most widescreen laptops there is really only 1 decent screen res to use, the compaq CQ60 is no different in this regard so i really don't want to fiddle with that.
I just created a new toolbar and then put a pager and taskbar onit, and it seems to do the job. I am going to apply now some patches as described in this forum and then have a go with Compiz, when i finish that i am thinking of remastering it for safe keeping.
Thanks again for your help
greetz
Caved
I just created a new toolbar and then put a pager and taskbar onit, and it seems to do the job. I am going to apply now some patches as described in this forum and then have a go with Compiz, when i finish that i am thinking of remastering it for safe keeping.
Thanks again for your help
greetz
Caved
Some people disturbed, that the network card is assigned to "eth1".
It seems, this can be easily solved.
Edit:
/etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
Comment the two entries there with a "#", like this:
After a reboot, the file looks like this:
The original file in the puplet has just one line:
I will comment this line in the next Newyearspup, so eth0 should be set as default.
Mark
It seems, this can be easily solved.
Edit:
/etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
Comment the two entries there with a "#", like this:
Code: Select all
# PCI device 0x10ec:0x8168 (r8169)
#SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:e0:4d:4c:26:f1", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"
# PCI device 0x10de:0x054c (forcedeth)
#SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:1e:90:4a:40:c2", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth1"
Code: Select all
# PCI device 0x10ec:0x8168 (r8169)
#SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:e0:4d:4c:26:f1", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"
# PCI device 0x10de:0x054c (forcedeth)
#SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:1e:90:4a:40:c2", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth1"
# PCI device 0x10de:0x054c (forcedeth)
SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:1e:90:4a:40:c2", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"
Code: Select all
# PCI device 0x10ec:0x8168 (r8169)
SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:e0:4d:4c:26:f1", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"
Mark
-
- Posts: 219
- Joined: Thu 17 May 2007, 06:52
- Location: Queensland Australia
G'day,
Incredible job Mark - I am astonished that you seem to have surpassed the larger distros for cutting edge...
Just wondering though.....
A friend has an ati crossfire system (two graphics cards) - would the ati drivers in NYP activate 3d rendering for this system - or am I asking too much?
If it does we then have another linux and puppy convert.
Cheers
Martin
Incredible job Mark - I am astonished that you seem to have surpassed the larger distros for cutting edge...
Just wondering though.....
A friend has an ati crossfire system (two graphics cards) - would the ati drivers in NYP activate 3d rendering for this system - or am I asking too much?
If it does we then have another linux and puppy convert.
Cheers
Martin
@MU:
Sorry if I didn't pick this up from the previous 8 pages, but exactly what versions of Puppy will these drivers (your .pets) work on? I've heard talk about Unnamed puplet, NYP, and even SMP4.2. Does it work on all of these? How about stock 4.2?
As much as I long for elimination of video tearing (which I believe graphics cards will do), I don't want to downgrade to the Puppy4.1x series since it has some problems and general lack of aesthetic appeal.
So where will your drivers work? Is it tied to a specific kernel?
Sorry if I didn't pick this up from the previous 8 pages, but exactly what versions of Puppy will these drivers (your .pets) work on? I've heard talk about Unnamed puplet, NYP, and even SMP4.2. Does it work on all of these? How about stock 4.2?
As much as I long for elimination of video tearing (which I believe graphics cards will do), I don't want to downgrade to the Puppy4.1x series since it has some problems and general lack of aesthetic appeal.
So where will your drivers work? Is it tied to a specific kernel?
eth1/eth0 - thanks, Mark. Unfortunately, it hasn't happened quite like that. I had to edit in the third paragraph. That was OK and the network setter then showed eth0 and it worked. However, the 'mounting drives' message had now become persistent until I deleted the error message mentioned elsewhere.
Then Google Earth stopped working - it appeared to start loading, but the rotating arrow stopped with no app loaded (same from CLI).
I tried to edit /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
back to its original state. It saved OK, but, upon reboot, the edited version had returned with the extra portion and eth0 default. Tried to edit it several more times - no go.
Google Earth still not working - eth0 still default.
Seems I've broken something!
And just to add insult, network settings still refuse to save???
Then Google Earth stopped working - it appeared to start loading, but the rotating arrow stopped with no app loaded (same from CLI).
I tried to edit /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
back to its original state. It saved OK, but, upon reboot, the edited version had returned with the extra portion and eth0 default. Tried to edit it several more times - no go.
Google Earth still not working - eth0 still default.
Seems I've broken something!
And just to add insult, network settings still refuse to save???
Last edited by Sage on Sun 03 May 2009, 08:44, edited 2 times in total.
gabe,
the kernel related drivers like virtalbox or graficscarddrivers work only for the kernel they were compiled for.
puppy411 kernel-2.6.28.5 Xorg-7.4 LXDE and the latest newyearspups use the same Kernel, so the pets work in both.
They do not work in Standard Puppy.
Also several other pets will not work in Standard Puppy, those that contain applications based on Gtk2.
Puppy uses an oldr version, where not all dependencies are available, like libgio.
So only few pets/sfs will work in a Standard Puppy, for example Java.
Mark
the kernel related drivers like virtalbox or graficscarddrivers work only for the kernel they were compiled for.
puppy411 kernel-2.6.28.5 Xorg-7.4 LXDE and the latest newyearspups use the same Kernel, so the pets work in both.
They do not work in Standard Puppy.
Also several other pets will not work in Standard Puppy, those that contain applications based on Gtk2.
Puppy uses an oldr version, where not all dependencies are available, like libgio.
So only few pets/sfs will work in a Standard Puppy, for example Java.
Mark
editing the rules requires to reboot, or it also might work to type:
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev stop
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev reload
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev start
or:
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev stop
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev force-reload
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev start
The original file looks like this:
This asigns eth0 to that specific mac adress. I just can suspect where it comes from, it might be a setting from wows computer.
As consequence, all other detected cards get a higher number like eth1.
By commenting it, my computer now uses eth0 after a reboot, and I had not problems so far.
So I can give no further clues.
If you encounter problems, type:
dmesg
Maybe there errors show up.
Mark
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev stop
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev reload
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev start
or:
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev stop
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev force-reload
/etc/rc.d/rc.udev start
The original file looks like this:
Code: Select all
# PCI device 0x10ec:0x8168 (r8169)
SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:e0:4d:4c:26:f1", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"
As consequence, all other detected cards get a higher number like eth1.
By commenting it, my computer now uses eth0 after a reboot, and I had not problems so far.
So I can give no further clues.
If you encounter problems, type:
dmesg
Maybe there errors show up.
Mark
Forgive me, I'm trying to understand. If the graficscarddrivers only work with these two unofficial puplets, then how would it be possible to get my graphics card to work for normal Puppy (or newer Puppy like the 4.2 SMP or 4.21)?MU wrote:graficscarddrivers work only for the kernel they were compiled for. ... They do not work in Standard Puppy.
Also, you say that "they only work for the kernel they were compiled for"--does this mean they won't work on newer kernels either? (like 2.6.29.1, which all the new Puppy stuff like 4.21 is going to be based on?). Again, forgive me, but this doesn't seem to make any sense to me that they'd work on one kernel and not on older or newer ones.
Why wouldn't they work? Is it linux's fault?
Is there a way to convert the .pet? Or would you be forced to do (a lot of) extra work just to make it work on these different "kernels"?
All I want to do is play video without tearing...
Gabe,
Please:
what card?
What driver?
you can of course compile drivers for other kernels.
Just the binary pets will not work.
Also ultrapup uses a newer xorg than Puppy, so the pets for graficsdrivers are not compatible.
But there are pets for Puppy, like Ati/Nvidia.
More details please:
what card do you have
What Puppy (exactly, e.g. kernelversion) do you want to use...
Mark
Please:
what card?
What driver?
you can of course compile drivers for other kernels.
Just the binary pets will not work.
Also ultrapup uses a newer xorg than Puppy, so the pets for graficsdrivers are not compatible.
But there are pets for Puppy, like Ati/Nvidia.
More details please:
what card do you have
What Puppy (exactly, e.g. kernelversion) do you want to use...
Mark
- battleshooter
- Posts: 1378
- Joined: Wed 14 May 2008, 05:10
- Location: Australia
Hi everyone,
I'm having a noobie moment and can't figure out how to get back the bar at the bottom of the screen that shows what programs you've got open.
I got rid of it (at least so I think) while playing round with the "Openbox Configuration Manager". I was trying to figure how to get windows to not overlap with the top bar and bottom bar. Excuse the bad terminology, don't know what either are called
Thanks
Battleshooter
I'm having a noobie moment and can't figure out how to get back the bar at the bottom of the screen that shows what programs you've got open.

I got rid of it (at least so I think) while playing round with the "Openbox Configuration Manager". I was trying to figure how to get windows to not overlap with the top bar and bottom bar. Excuse the bad terminology, don't know what either are called


Battleshooter
[url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94580]LMMS 1.0.2[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94593]Ardour 3.5.389[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94629]Kdenlive 0.9.8[/url]
- battleshooter
- Posts: 1378
- Joined: Wed 14 May 2008, 05:10
- Location: Australia
Yes!
Thanks Mark! You've no idea how annoying it wass getting with it missing...
Thanks again
Battleshooter


Battleshooter

[url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94580]LMMS 1.0.2[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94593]Ardour 3.5.389[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94629]Kdenlive 0.9.8[/url]
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Thu 20 Mar 2008, 01:48
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Thu 20 Mar 2008, 01:48