I'm not able to make comments in my internet Local news pape

Booting, installing, newbie
Post Reply
Message
Author
jbander
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon 30 May 2011, 23:41

I'm not able to make comments in my internet Local news pape

#1 Post by jbander »

My digital copy of my local newspaper has the ability to interact in a comment area for each article. I'm unable to in Sea monkey, the hypertext "comment" word to left click on to comment with, doesn't even show. Any thought to resolve this would be appreciated

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#2 Post by Semme »

Grab this and cut back your ua string by losing the SeaMonkey bit:

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30
If it works, you can accomplish the same without the extension:

Code: Select all

//
// user.js: Personal prefs which mozilla shouldn't overwrite.
//

// Override the default user-agent string:
user_pref("general.useragent.override", "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0");
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

jbander
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon 30 May 2011, 23:41

#3 Post by jbander »

Semme wrote:Grab this and cut back your ua string by losing the SeaMonkey bit:

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0 SeaMonkey/2.30
If it works, you can accomplish the same without the extension:

Code: Select all

//
// user.js: Personal prefs which mozilla shouldn't overwrite.
//

// Override the default user-agent string:
user_pref("general.useragent.override", "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0");
I'm New to puppy , I don't understand your answer. Whats a UA string

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri 04 Sep 2009, 01:30
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

#4 Post by Makoto »

Are you using the NoScript extension with Seamonkey? It blocks most, if not all, scripts by default, and some elements on a page (like the buttons above the editor here on this forum) may not appear as a result.

If you are using NoScript, try the steps I mention in this post, and see if it works (although, in some cases, you may need to whitelist more than the main server).
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri 04 Sep 2009, 01:30
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

#5 Post by Makoto »

I don't know, Semme - I've had the impression that modifying the UserAgent string isn't really necessary most of the time, unless you're running into sites that are absolutely convinced you should be running a different (that shall remain nameless) browser, trying to convince sites you're running from a different browser/platform for different or better options, or want to make a site believe you're on a mobile browser when you're not (or vice versa). I could be wrong, though.

(Edited - sorry, Semme, I'll admit to skimming the post and jumping to the conclusion you wanted him to adjust the UA manually, by default.)
Last edited by Makoto on Sun 02 Nov 2014, 09:06, edited 1 time in total.
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#6 Post by Semme »

Jbander, if you had taken the time to visit my link, logic suggests you'd perhaps understand.
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

Post Reply