Parallel port question

Booting, installing, newbie
Post Reply
Message
Author
kj4bnh
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu 20 Jun 2013, 16:28

Parallel port question

#1 Post by kj4bnh »

Hi, Question is: can I manipulate the bits of the parallel port using BASH scripting or should I be looking at a different approach?

IBM Thinkpad 600E
288megs
366mhz
Puppy 4.3.1
big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

Re: Parallel port question

#2 Post by big_bass »

kj4bnh wrote:Hi, Question is: can I manipulate the bits of the parallel port using BASH scripting or should I be looking at a different approach?

IBM Thinkpad 600E
288megs
366mhz
Puppy 4.3.1

Hey kj4bnh
Its not common for me to post here but you may be really serious about trying to
connect the parallel port for some reason
and you would have to sort a lot of information to get it to work from scratch

I had done this using a C app and a Basic test example and personally
tested this to be working

in the second post I ported the C app to 100% BaCon code

if you know a little Basic or C it can be done
it's a lot to explain in one post but there is nothing better than working code
http://basic-converter.proboards.com/th ... rt-control

if you are interested sign up at http://basic-converter.proboards.com/
thats were I am usually

Joe
kj4bnh
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu 20 Jun 2013, 16:28

#3 Post by kj4bnh »

This is all well and good but I was hoping for like a 3 liner: 1 to turn a bit on, 2 to sleep for 1/2 second and 3 to turn the bit off. Have done this with QBasic, hoping to do with a script. Rock on.
User avatar
Moose On The Loose
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu 24 Feb 2011, 14:54

Re: Parallel port question

#4 Post by Moose On The Loose »

kj4bnh wrote:Hi, Question is: can I manipulate the bits of the parallel port using BASH scripting or should I be looking at a different approach?

IBM Thinkpad 600E
288megs
366mhz
Puppy 4.3.1
I have done it the the past almost totally with bash. What I did was write an extremely small program in C that what just smart enough to put one byte on the port.

The project was a halloween thing that controlled a few effects and played sounds out a few speakers.

For that purpose, it was more than good enough but I would not want to do timing any better than that sort of thing.

BTW: A good trick for getting more bits than 8 outputs is the CD4099. You can drive 3 of them and get 24 bits controlled.
kj4bnh
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu 20 Jun 2013, 16:28

Re: Parallel port question

#5 Post by kj4bnh »

Moose On The Loose wrote:
kj4bnh wrote:Hi, Question is: can I manipulate the bits of the parallel port using BASH scripting or should I be looking at a different approach?

IBM Thinkpad 600E
288megs
366mhz
Puppy 4.3.1
I have done it the the past almost totally with bash. What I did was write an extremely small program in C that what just smart enough to put one byte on the port.

The project was a halloween thing that controlled a few effects and played sounds out a few speakers.

For that purpose, it was more than good enough but I would not want to do timing any better than that sort of thing.

BTW: A good trick for getting more bits than 8 outputs is the CD4099. You can drive 3 of them and get 24 bits controlled.
Timing is not a big issue, this project just mimics a button push on a tv remote.
Post Reply